AUGUSTA — The Big 11 Conference unveiled its high school football all-conference selections, which proved exciting news for many Midcoast student-athletes and one area coach.

The conference, made up of Class C North teams — including Medomak Valley of Waldoboro, Oceanside or Rockland and Belfast — recognized 14 area players as first- or second-team selections, while Panther coach Ryan Snell earned coach-of-the-year honors and assistant coach Jason Stewart assistant coach of the year.

Additionally, a handful of area players were deemed honorable mentions.

Medomak Valley’s Levi Ward, along with Winslow’s Evan Bourget, were selected co-players of the year. Ward and Bourget were all-conference selections at fullback and linebacker.

Snell said the awards for his players is a “reflection of a lot of hard work by them, not only this year, but last year in tough circumstances.” He added he is “real happy for Jason” and that Stewart’s award “is a reflection of the coaching staff and the kids as a whole.”

“He’s been here since the program started every step of the way,” said Snell of Stewart. “He had our defense playing at a high level this year. He’s a great role model for the kids and we’re fortunate to have had he and his family involved in the program all along.”

The following is a breakdown of area players recognized by the conference:

First-team all-conference offense — Medomak Valley’s Connor Light (offensive tackle), Hayden Staples (running back), Ward (fullback) and Marshall Addy (offensive guard).

First-team all-conference defense — Medomak Valley’s Tucker Holgerson (defensive end), Isaac Bickford (defensive tackle), Nolan Gahagan (linebacker) and Garret Hutchins (defensive back).

Second-team all-conference offense — Medomak Valley’s Isaac Simmons (center); and Belfast’s Zepherin Leppanen (kicker).

Second-team all-conference defense — Medomak Valley’s Ward (linebacker) and Blake Morrison (defensive back); Belfast’s Quentin Roberts (linebacker) and Kaden Bonin (defensive back); and Oceanside’s Hale Morris (defensive back).

Honorable mention — Belfast’s Gabe Kelley, Andrew Abelon, James Whiting, Frankie Martin, Tommy Littlefield, Pete Lovejoy and Jackson LaPierre; Oceanside’s Jacob Carroll (linebacker) and Jason Leclerc (center); and Medomak Valley’s Jethro Pease (offensive guard) and Jacob Craig (punter).

MaineStay Media/VillageSoup sports staff can be reached by email at