BELFAST — Some of the smallest, but mightiest, Midcoast football players converged on Belfast Area High School on Saturday, Oct. 23 for a full slate of games and when the final plays had been made, Oceanside emerged as champions in the varsity and junior varsity divisions.

The Coastal Youth Football League was back on the field this fall after being forced to the sidelines in 2020 due to the pandemic. Not only did the varsity, for fifth- and sixth-graders, and jayvees, for third- and fourth-graders, play regular-season games, but showed up at BAHS for the always popular postseason “Harvest Bowl.”

On that day, the results of the playoff games included:

Varsity — No. 2 Medomak beat No. 3 Boothbay 13-0, No. 1 Oceanside beat No. 4 Belfast 26-0, No. 3 Boothbay beat No. 4 Belfast 8-6 and No. 1 Oceanside beat No. 2 Medomak 33-7 in the championship.

Jayvee — No. 1 Belfast beat No. 4 Medomak 7-6, No. 2 Oceanside beat No. 3 Boothbay 6-0, No. 3 Boothbay beat No. 4 Medomak 18-0 and No. 2 Oceanside beat No. 1 Belfast 26-6 in the championship.

A list of players and coaches for the eight teams include:

Oceanside varsity — Wyatt Banow, Case Galley, Mikey O’Hara-Damon, Ryan Maynard, Oren Shepard, Gabe Robertson, Dylan Stalcup, Everett Tolman, Bryce Gushee, Todd Reid, Kasey Shepard, Austin Lamb, Preston Ratcliff, Bradley Curtis, Kayden Malloy and William Malloy. The team is coached by Brad Galley, Jeremy Tolman, Chris Brown and Bill Weiss.

Oceanside jayvees — Oliver Quinn, Blake Monroe, Tyler Breen, Spencer Patten, Dylan Fales, Zack Fales, Oren Shepard, Owen Shepard, Levi Rodin, Colt Woods, Clayton Fowlie and Kinsley Gray. The coaches are Matt Breen, Tommy Monroe and Clint Dodge.

Medomak varsity — Colby Simmons, Jacoby Achorn, Tim Bennett, Carter Jackson, Trent Wallace, Cole Esancy, Landen Benner, Sawyer Chapman, Trent Lash, Kaiden Reed, Laramie McGraw, Parker Eaton, Miles Luellen, Autumn Skye Quinn, Aaron Tardiff Jr., Maxwell Pease, Liam Gould, Owen Harvey, Jaydiin Ruiz, Kody Whitney, Oliver Wotton and Chase Edgecomb. The coaches are Keith Simmons, Tim Bennett, Ernie Wallace and John Achorn.

Medomak jayvees — Sebastian Langley, Ashton Severson, Hunter Morris, Quinn Downing, Pierce Achorn, Brayden McNelly, Gavin Burns, Jackson Cowan, James Harvey, Ace Lailer, Landyn Ambridge and Tyeson Ingraham-Bissett. The coaches are Andrew Severson, Lance Lailer and Rogers Langley.

Boothbay varsity — Matthew Reed, Thomas Hennessy, Matthew Carpenter, Silas Kaler, Peyton Barter, Carson Cook, Tyson Brown, Colby Doucette, Byron Hills, Miles Murray, Aiden Jewett, Hunter Ryan, Rich-Wyatt James, Maddox Gregory, Demetrius Hilgendorf, Chase Licursi and Daegan Marshall. The coach is David Murray.

Boothbay jayvees — Mason Wenners, James Barter, Ben Alley, Owen James, Sam Cooper, Bryson Hersom, Jayden Copeland, Kaiden Cusumano, Mackswell Cusumano, Asher Whitt, Grady Gamage, James Hourihan, Ben Hodgdon, Nayden Heaberlin, Dakota Hilgendorf, Aiden Casley, Isabella Page, Blaine Watts and Harrison Clark. The coaches are Dave Whitt, Dan Cooper, Paul Copeland, Bryan James and Weston Alley.

Belfast varsity — Zackery Bailey, Tyson Bryant, Ashton Doolan, Cole Dusoe, Maxwell Dyer, Gordon Dyer, James Falconer, Steven Fuller, Kellan Harvey, William Hustus, Brody Ingraham, Iven Ingraham, Gaitlin Knowlton, Thatcher Otis, Kane Patten, Ross Philbrook, Ryker Roberts, Mythias Travis, Chase Whitmore and Aidan Willard. A list of coaches was unavailable.

Belfast jayvees — Colton Alley, John Apetz, Carter Bradford, Freddie Cameron, Gary Clark, Jakobe Cummings, Lyla Cummings, Cameron Emmett, Scarlett Farrell, Cayden Flagg, Tyrell Glidden, Mason Goulart, Ezyce Hughes, Brynn Leach, Orin Leach, Brody Mace, Campbell McCarthy, Sam Mitchell, Jedson Otis, Welker Reynolds, Brayden Roberts, Garrett Roberts, Mason Roberts, Caleb Ryan, Carter Story, Kordel Walker and Jacob Whalen. A list of coaches was unavailable.

Oceanside’s title quests

In the varsity division, the Mariners, who finished 7-0 this fall, beat Boothbay in the semifinals, as Wyatt Banow, Case Galley and Mikey O’Hara-Damon scored touchdowns. Quarterback Everett Tolman also connected on a point-after pass to Nate Walton.

In the final, Oceanside faced the Panthers. It was the third time in recent years the opponents met in the championship game. The previous two where won by Medomak as one showdown came down to the final play.

The Mariners earned a bit of revenge with a comfortable victory this fall.

Oceanside scored twice early and led 13-0 at the halftime, but on the first drive of the second half the Panthers punched the ball in and converted an extra point to make the score 13-7.

The Mariners marched down the field and scored at the end of the quarter to make it 20-7 and kicker Nate Walton executed a “spectacular” onside kick that the Mariners recovered.

“This was a huge turning point in the game,” said coach Galley, as the Mariners scored again a few plays later. That sequence of plays effectively put the game out of reach, the coach said.

The Mariner defense was led by Bryce Gushee with six tackles, and Case Galley, Wyatt Banow, Everett Tolman, Gabe Robertson William Malloy and Kayden Malloy with five.

Scoring for the Mariners were Wyatt Banow with two touchdowns and extra point, Mikey O’Hara-Damon two TDs and Case Galley one score and an extra-point run.

In jayvee games, Oceanside, which finished 3-2-1, held on for a 6-0 win over Boothbay, as Tyler Breen scored in the final seconds on a 50-yard touchdown run.

In the championship game, the Mariners prevailed over host and previously-unbeaten Belfast. The Mariners were led by multiple touchdowns from Breen and defensively by Dylan Fales, Levi Rodin and Oren Shepard with a bundle of tackles.

Oceanside’s previously lost two regular-season games to Belfast.