SEARSPORT — Ellis Braga of Stockton Springs, a senior at Searsport District High School, has been selected to receive the 2022 Principal’s Award, Principal Joshua Toothaker announced today.

The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic achievement and citizenship.

“Ellis embodies a strong commitment and determined attitude inside of the classroom and through his participation with athletics as he is tremendously successful in both,” Toothaker said in his March 8 announcement. “Furthermore, Ellis is a civically minded studen,t involved in a variety of activities inside and outside of the school, that seeks to better his community. He does all of this with integrity and a positive attitude. It’s an honor to recognize Ellis with this award and distinction as a role model for our school community.”

Ellis, Toothaker and other award winners and their principals will participate in a live virtual scholarship drawing event on Friday, April 1, at 11 a.m. Ten $1,000 scholarships will be drawn in the names of former Maine principals and MPA Executive Directors Horace O. McGowan, Richard W. Tyler and Richard A. Durost.

The Principal’s Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association that represents Maine’s school administrators.