AUBURN — Members of the Searsport District High School’s Future Business Leaders of America chapter recently competed against other chapters across the state at the Maine FBLA State Leadership Conference and business competition.

The conference took place March 18 at Central Maine Community College. In a press release, Searsport FBLA members expressed their gratitude for the support of local businesses and their generous contributions that made the team’s attendance possible.

Searsport students placed in the following events: Tim Smith won third in Introduction to Information Technology, Eli Law won second in Job Interview, Ellis Braga took third in Economics and first in Agribusiness, and Max Provencher won first in Future Business Leader, Securities and Investments, Business Management, and Business Calculations. He took second in Political Science.

Max was named the Who’s Who Maine FBLA Member of the Year. Searsport teacher Jennifer Rich was named Maine FBLA Adviser of the Year.


Clowning for the camera March 18 are FBLA business competition medal winners, from left, Max Provencher, Ellis Braga, Eli Law, and chapter Treasurer Tim Smithz. Courtesy of SDHS FBLA Chapter

Searsport District High School teacher Jennifer Rich gets applause for being named Maine’s FBLA Adviser of the Year at a state conference March 18. Courtesy of SDHS FBLA Chapter