Residents will go to the polls Tuesday, June 14, to choose nominees for state and federal offices, to vote on district school budgets, and to have their say on any local ballot measures included on primary ballots.

For state elections, districts throughout Maine were reconfigured last fall based on results of the 2020 Census. Following are the new state House districts and the candidates running in the primary for their party’s nominations:


In District 37 (Searsport, Stockton Springs, Prospect, Winterport and part of Frankfort), Winterport residents Kevin J. Kelley and Reagan L. Paul will square off in the June 14 primary for the GOP nomination. Democrat Margaret English-Flanagan, also of Winterport, is unopposed on the primary ballot. Kelley and English-Flanagan currently serve together on the Winterport Town Council.





In District 38 (Unity, Thorndike, Knox, Jackson, Brooks, Monroe, Waldo, Swanville and part of Frankfort), Republicans Benjamin C. Hymes of Waldo and Jesse J. Waryck of Brooks will vie for their party’s nomination in the primary. In November, the winner will run against Heather Elizabeth “Betsy” Garrold of Knox, a member of the Green Independent Party, and Democrat Robyn M. Stanicki of Unity; both are unopposed in next week’s primary.









In District 39 (Belfast, Belmont and Northport), incumbent Rep. Janice “Jan” Dodge, D-Belfast, is unopposed in the primary, but will face off against Republican Stephen J. Hemenway of Northport Nov. 8.








There is no primary race in District 40. In November, incumbent Rep. S. Paige Zeigler, D-Montville, will face Republican Tricia M. Harrington of Liberty to represent Montville, Liberty, Morrill, Searsmont, Lincolnville, Islesboro and the Knox County town of Appleton. Zeigler is seeking a fourth term in the Maine House.





In District 62 (Palermo, plus the Kennebec County towns of China and Windsor and the Lincoln County town of Somerville), Republicans Katrina J. Smith of Palermo and Jennifer V. Tuminaro of China are on the June primary for their party’s nomination. The winner will face off in November against Democrat Pamela J. Swift of Palermo, who is unopposed in the primary for her party’s nomination.





There are no primary races in District 63. Democrat Phillip Bloomstein of Freedom and Republican Scott W. Cyrway of Albion are unopposed on the primary ballot; they will compete in November for the seat representing Freedom, plus the Kennebec County towns of Albion, Winslow and Unity Township).








Both candidates for the District 68 seat (Troy, Burnham, Clinton and the Somerset County town of Pittsfield) are from Pittsfield, and both are unopposed in the primary next Tuesday. On Nov. 8, Republican Amanda Noelle Collamore will face Stanley Byron Short in the general election.

In the race for Waldo County sheriff, Chief Deputy Jason W. Trundy of Lincolnville, a Democrat, is up against Searsport Police Chief Todd A. Boisvert of Searsport, a Republican, to succeed Trundy’s boss, retiring Sheriff Jeffrey Trafton, a Republican.

Incumbent Waldo County Commissioner Betty I. Johnson of Lincolnville faces challenger Owen R. Smith of Belfast in the June 14 primary for the Democratic Party nomination for county commissioner. The winner of the primary will run against Republican David A. Thompson of Waldo in November. Thompson is unopposed in the primary.

In the race for state Senate District 11, which encompasses all of Waldo County, incumbent Glenn “Chip” Curry, D-Belfast, will be challenged in November by Rep. MaryAnne Kinney, R-Knox, who will be termed out of her Maine House seat. Both are unopposed in the primary.

For the Second District congressional seat, Elizabeth M. Caruso of Caratunk and former Rep. Bruce Poliquin of Orrington are on the June primary ballot seeking the Republican nomination. The winner will face incumbent Rep. Jared Golden, D-Lewiston, in November. Golden is seeking his third term in Congress.

In the state gubernatorial race in November, former Republican Gov. Paul LePage hopes to unseat incumbent Gov. Janet Mills, a Democrat. Neither faces a challenger in the June 14 primary.

Most polling places are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. for voting in the primary; check with your town office to be sure of the hours in your municipality.