WISCASSET — More than 80 competitors lined the pits on Saturday, June 4 for an exciting day as the 2022 stock car racing season at Wiscasset Speedway rolled on with a full Group 1 program that included the Sweatt’s Concrete Thunder 4 Minis, Market 27 Super Streets, Brackett’s Market 4-Cylinder Pros, Norm’s Used Car Pro Stocks and the NELCAR Legends.

The program, sponsored by Knox Machine Company, kicked off with a 25-lap spotlight feature from the Sweatt’s Concrete Thunder 4 Minis. The race originally was scheduled to be a 35-lap feature, but a caution-plagued start resulted in 10 laps being deducted after the fourth caution on lap 12. Once the field settled, David Cook took off with the lead and began to pull away, as he held a half straightaway lead over his competitors in the closing laps of the race. He maintained his advantage through the conclusion of the feature, as he scored his third consecutive victory in the division. Father-son duo, Adam and Zach Audet, rounded out the podium.

Legends top three include Luke LeBrun, Devin Deshaies and James Anderson. Photo courtesy of Amy Harrop

Josh St. Clair, a two-time winner in the Market 27 Super Streets this season, was absent from the division on Saturday. Former division champion, Michael Harrison, snagged the early lead from David Greenleaf in the feature. He fought off a hard-charging rookie, Brett Osmond, throughout the second half of the race to pick up his first win of the season. Following post-race technical inspection, Harrison was penalized due to a carburetor violation and Brett Osmond was declared the official race winner. The win was Osmond’s first in the Super Streets.

Taylor Lane dominated the first half of the day in the Brackett’s Market 4-Cylinder Pro Division, as he won the qualifying heat race and led the first seven laps of the feature before Ben Burgess took over. A late-race caution for Daniel Harding spinning led to a three-lap shootout for Ben Burgess and Josh Hall, who is a two-time winner this season in the division. It was a drag race to the finish for the two young drivers. Burgess beat Hall to the line by a nose to pick up his first career victory at Wiscasset Speedway. Margin of victory? .017 seconds. Sylas Ripley, who picked up his first career win two weeks ago, rounded out the podium.

Norm’s Used Cars Pro Stocks top three include Nick Reno of West Bath (first), Garrett Hall of Scarborough (second) and Fayette’s Logan Melcher (third). Photo courtesy of Amy Harrop

The NELCAR Legends Tour made their first visit to Wiscasset Speedway in 2022 on Saturday, as it joined Group 1. 2020 tour champion, Luke LeBrun, who won eight races last season, kicked off the day with a heat race victory. He tracked down Devin Deshaies on lap four of the feature and never looked back, as he ended the night with another win. Devin Deshaies and James Anderson rounded out the podium.

The Norm’s Used Cars Pro Stocks capped the night with a final 40-lap feature race. Nick Reno showed strength as he picked up a heat victory and powered to the early lead over Scott Chubbuck in the feature. A wreck on lap nine collected many heavy hitters, including Kevin Douglass and Josh St. Clair, both of whom were winners in the division this season. Gary Smith, 2021 Beech Ridge track champion, also was caught in the carnage. Nick Reno took off, following the caution, to extend his lead to a full straightaway with 10 laps to go. Reno sailed off into the sunset, as he picked up his first Pro Stock victory of the 2022 season. Garrett Hall and Logan Melcher rounded out the top three.

Sweatt’s Concrete Thunger 4 Mini top three include David Cook of Jay (first), Adam Audet of Norridgewock (second) and Zach Audet of Norridgewock (third). Photo courtesy of Amy Harrop

The racing results included:

Sweatt’s Concrete Thunger 4 Mini (25 laps) – 1, David Cook, Jay; 2, Adam Audet, Norridgewock; 3, Zach Audet, Norridgewock; 4, Shane Webber, New Vinyard; 5, Derek Cook, Livermore Falls; 6, Jeff Farrington, Alna; 7, Doug Degroat, Oxford; 8, Dustin Salley, South Paris; 9, Darryl Quinlon, Westbrook; 10, Gunner Josselyn, New Vinyard; 11, Bruce Hall Jr., Chesterville; 12, Nathan Pearson, Turner; 13, Steve Hall, Sebago; 14, Ricky McEachern, Starks; 15, Ches Williams, Hope; 16, Josh Hall, Sebago; 17, Austin Dodge, Freeport; 18, Butch Keene, Turner; 19, Jeff Davis, Woolwich; 20, Adreonna Dodge, Freeport; 21, Dylan Cook, Turner; 22, Doug Churchill; 23, Tyler Field, Warren; 24, James Grover, Newcastle; 25, Richard Austin, Norridgewock; 26, John Anderson, Bristol; and 27, Paul Hopkins, Camden.

Market 27 Super Streets (30 laps) – 1, Brett Osmond, Wiscasset; 2, Matt Beers, Farmingdale; 3, Kenny Harrison, Durham; 4, Michael Harrison, Durham; 5, Dominic Curit, Saco; 6, Charlie Sanborn III, Scarborough; 7, Mike St. Pierre, Buxton; 8, Zack Bowie, Greene; 9, Bill Pinkham, Wiscasset; 10, Mike Wallace, Wiscasset; 11, David Greenleaf, Westport; 12, Nicole Benincasa, Buxton; 13, Darick Barker, Durham; 14, Brandon Sprague, Edgecomb; 15, Richard Pelton, Scarborough; 16, P.J. Merrill, Canton; 17, Brandon Bourne, Wickfield; and 18, Nick Morton, Woolwich.

Brackett’s Market 4-Cylinder Pro (25 laps) – 1, Ben Burgess, Hartford; 2, Josh Hall, Mount Vernon; 3, Sylas Ripley, Warren; 4, Daniel Harding, Fairfield; 5, Taylor Lane, Phillips; 6, Garritt McKee, Dixmont; 7, Andy Kaherl, Saco; and 8, Callahan Cox, Harrison.

Norm’s Used Cars Pro Stocks (40 laps) – 1, Nick Reno, West Bath; 2, Garrett Hall, Scarborough; 3, Logan Melcher, Fayette; 4, Scott Chubbuck, Bowdoin; 5, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 6, Wayne Helliwell Jr., Dover, N.H.; 7, Jamie Wright, Woolwich; 8, Dave Getchell, Cornville; 9, Joey Peaselee, Thomaston; 10, Nick Calvert, Steep Falls; 11, Joe Harriman, Montville; 12, Kevin Douglass, Sidney; 13, Gary Smith, Bangor; and 14, Steven Chicoine, Windsor.

Amy Harrop works for Wiscasset Speedway.