WISCASSET — The 2022 season at Wiscasset Speedway rolled on Saturday, June 11 with a full Group 2 program. The lineup included the 88.5FM Modifieds, Kennebec Equipment Rental Outlaw Minis, Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Models, T&L Automotive Roadrunners and Portland Glass Strictly Streets.

The night was sponsored by Mainely Karting and LST Motorsports Park, newly owned and operated by Mainely Motorsports’ Steve Perry. Mainely Karting had multiple karts on display at the track entrance and the drivers took part in a short exhibition race during intermission that featured the track’s divisions.

Roadrunners’ top three include Nicole Brown of Hope (first), David Whitelaw of Readfield (second) and Ken Turner of South China (third). Photo courtesy of Amy Harrop

The night kicked off with a 30-lap spotlight feature race for the 88.5FM Modifieds. The division continues to grow each week and 14 drivers joined the field on Saturday. Brian Treadwell held the early advantage in the feature, but last year’s champion, Adam Chadbourne, quickly came through the field. Chadbourne stole the lead on lap 11 and took off, as he maintained his edge as other weekly heavy hitters like Ryan Ripley, a three-time winner this season, struggled. Chadbourne sailed into the victory, as he picked up his 65th career feature win. Allan Moeller, Sr. and Tyler Robbins rounded out the podium.

The Kennebec Equipment Rental Outlaw Minis followed with a 25-lap feature race. Zach Audet kicked off the day with a heat win over Jimmy Childs, his long-standing rival in the division. Childs was plagued with rocker-arm issues during the heat and feature, which took him out of contention for the win. Audet powered to the early lead in the feature over his teammate, Kyle Willette. A late-race caution brought the field together but Audet held strong, as he picked up the feature victory as Willette and Ryan Kenniston followed, to complete the top three.

Portland Glass Strictly Streets’ winner Mac Hannan Jr. of Washington. Photo courtesy of Amy Harrop

“Boss Hogg” Dave St. Clair started his race day with an exciting victory over his grandson, Josh St. Clair, in the Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Model heat. Daniel Harding, 62 years younger than Dave St. Clair, also picked up his first heat win in the division on Saturday and led the early portion of the 40-lap feature. Chris Burgess snagged the lead from Harding on lap 11 and held it until he was overthrown by Josh St. Clair on lap 19. Josh St. Clair took off, as he extended his lead to a full straightaway by lap 35. He maintained his advantage through the closing laps of the feature, to pick up his first Late Model victory (but sixth overall) of the season. Will Collins and Chris Burgess rounded out the top three.

The T&L Automotive Roadrunners, a non-points flex division, took to the track next for their 15-lap feature. Nicole Brown was on a roll from the get-go, as she started her day with a heat win. She took off in the feature and never looked back, as she led the race from start to finish. The win was the first of her career and she was struck with emotion as she celebrated with a group of loved ones in victory lane following the finish. David Whitelaw and Ken Turner rounded out the podium.

Modifieds’ top three include Adam Chadbourne of Woolwich (first), Allan Moeller Jr. of Dresden (second) and Tyler Robbins of Montville (third). Photo courtesy of Amy Harrop

Money also was raised throughout the day for Steven Turner, a Roadrunners’ competitor badly injured in a wreck on Coastal 200 weekend. Tech director, Derek Mingo, owner of Bingo’s BBQ, raffled off a catered barbecue feast to help raise money for Steven’s medical bills and other expenses. The raffle was a hit and fellow Wiscasset competitor, Nick Reno, won the grand prize.

Our thoughts and prayers continue to be with Steven Turner and family throughout his road to recovery.

The night concluded with a final 25-lap feature from the Portland Glass Strictly Streets. Paul Lund held the early advantage in the feature, but Mac Hannan Jr. quickly maneuvered through the field. Hannan took over the lead on lap 11 and fought to fend off the competition after two late-race cautions brought the field together in the final seven laps of the race. Hannan persevered, as she picked up his first feature victory of the 2022 season. Scott Eck, in his first podium finish in the division, and Wade Kennedy rounded out the top three.

The individual racing results were:

88.5FM WHCF Modifieds (30 laps) – 1, Adam Chadbourne, Woolwich; 2, Allan Moeller Jr., Dresden; 3, Tyler Robbins, Montville; 4, Ryan Hayes, Jefferson; 5, Jeff Burgess, Fairfield; 6, Bobby Mesimer, Woolwich; 7, Matt Sanborn, Bangor; 8, Brandon Williams, Durham; 9, Mike Brown, Hope; 10, Keith Lovejoy, Biddeford; 11, Wayne Whitten, Kennebunk; 12, Doug Phillips, Phillips; 13, Ryan Ripley, Thomaston; and 14, Brian Treadwell, Hancock.

Kennebec Equipment Rental Outlaw Mini (25 laps) – 1, Zach Audet, Norridgewock; 2, Kyle Willette, Winslow; 3, Ryan Kenniston, Smithfield; 4, Travis Poulliot, Benton; 5, Ian Fraser, Belmont; 6, Bryan Robbins, Montville; 7, Shane Smith, Augusta; 8, Lewis Batchelder, Dixmont; 9, Chris Watkins, Oakland; 10, Jimmy Childs, Leeds; 11, Tyler Dinsmore, Newcastle; and 12, Wes Turner, Freedom.

Outlaw Minis’ top three include Zach Audet of Norridgewock (first), Kyle Willette of Winslow (second) and Ryan Kenniston of Smithfield (third). Photo courtesy of Amy Harrop

Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Model Sportsman (40 laps) – 1, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 2, Will Collins, Waldoboro; 3, Chris Burgess, Hartford; 4, Matt Bourgoine, Stetson; 5, Dave Getchell, Cornville; 6, Dave St. Clair, Liberty; 7, Jet Decker, Chesterville; 8, Daniel Harding, Fairfield; 9, Nick Reno, West Bath; 10, Ray Dinsmore, Limerick; 11, Brent Roy, Vassalboro; 12, Scott Hall, Jay; 13, Patrick Murphy, Woolwich; 14, Ryan Esancy, Appleton; 15, Connor Wenners, Edgecomb; 16, Jonathon Emerson, Oxford; 17, Dan Trask, Chelsea; 18, Frank Moulton, Clinton; and 19, Alex Waltz, Walpole.

T&L Automotive Roadrunners (15 laps) – 1, Nicole Brown, Hope; 2, David Whitelaw, Readfield; 3, Ken Turner, South China; 4, Kayle McLatchy, Jay; and 5, Sharon Whitelaw, Readfield.

Portland Glass Strictly Streets (25 laps) – 1, Mac Hannan Jr., Washington; 2, Scott Eck, Lisbon; 3, Wade Kennedy, Sebago; 4, Paul Lund, Buxton; 5, Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus; 6, Caleb Emerson-Mains, Richmond; 7, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 8, Ashton Burgess, Palmyra; 9, Keith Drost, Etna; 10, Landon Tapley, Washington; 11, Andrew Glynn, Farmingdale; 12, Jason Gaboury, Augusta; 13, Mike Haynes, Livermore Falls; 14, Brady Romano, Livermore Falls; 15, Jeremy Glazier, Appleton; 16, Ethan Dinsmore, Hope; 17, Chad Wills, Oxford; 18, Chaz Briggs, Westbrook; 19, Scott Wiggin, Somersworth; 20, Kurt Hewins, Turner; and 21, Mike Delano, Woolwich.

Amy Harrop works for Wiscasset Speedway.