BELFAST — Travis Spencer and wrestling excellence are synonymous. There cannot be one without the other.

That is because Spencer was that good. That dominant. That amazing when plying his skills on the mat.

What are the facts to support those claims? How about the following:

At Belfast Area High School, Spencer compiled a 181-9 career individual record, four state Class B championships, four Class B North titles and three Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference crowns. He was third as a junior and second as a senior at the grueling, prestigious and talent-laden New England championships. As a junior, he placed sixth at the National High School Coaches Association nationals and achieved All-American status.

Spencer, who used his strength, tenacity and skill to succeed on the mat, was the Maine Amateur Wrestling Alliance wrestler of the year in 2009.

In college, at the University of Southern Maine, as a freshman, Spencer finished sixth at New England Wrestling Association conference championships. As a sophomore, he was third in the same event.

At one point, he returned to give back to his community, and, more specifically, his beloved Lion wrestling program.

He served, for years, as an assistant coach at BAHS, as an inspiration to groups of teenage student-athletes.

What did all of that get Spencer? Well, plenty, including a spot in the Maine Amateur Wrestling Alliance Hall of Fame.
Spencer, who has been involved in law enforcement in Waldo County for years, will be inducted in the hall of fame in a ceremony on Saturday, Aug. 20 at Mast Landing Brewing Company in Freeport. The event begins at 2 p.m., with the induction ceremony at 2:45 p.m.
Spencer, an avid outdoorsmen, will be joined as inductees by Erick Jensen, Anthony Napolitano and Dick Faulkner.
Additionally, the following mat coaches/athletes will be recognized by the hall: Matthew Lindsay, Mattanawcook Academy of Lincoln, coach of the year; Jake Peavey, University of Southern Maine, James Aguiar college wrestler of the year; and Jackson Sutherland, Mattanawcook Academy, John Caramilhalis high school wrestler of the year.