NORTHPORT — The following is news from the Northport Golf Club:

On Sunday, Sept. 4, in points quota play, the team of Kevin Nickerson, Bob Delio, Butch Littlefield and Peter Doran finished first at 132; Mike Knox, Tim Riley, Hank Mattson and Cecil Eastman, second at 120; and John Sapoch, Larry Quinn, Caden Nickerson and John McKay, third at 118.

For Class A, Mike Knox, John Sapoch and Kevin Dains finished tied for first gross 75; Jenna Caler and Bob Delio, tied first net 69; and Larry Quinn and Preston Ward, tied third net 72.

For Class B, Butch Littlefield finished first gross 81; Duke Marston, second gross 95; Caden Nickerson and Dave Wentworth, tied third gross 96; Tim Riley, first net 66; John Herzberg, second net 70; and Peter Doran, third net 71.

Class A pins: Steve Stanford, 8-1 on the third hole; Jenna Caler, 4-9 on the ninth; and Preston Ward, 10-1 on the 12th, and 13-8 on the 18th.

Class B pins: John Herzberg, 6-0 on the third; Chris Burrough, 15-1 on the ninth; Tim Riley, 15-0 on the 12th; and Caden Nickerson, 9-4 n the 18th.

On Wednesday, Aug. 31 in scotch play, Ken Gordon and Sue Gordon, as well as Dan Eaton and Leslie Eaton, tied for first gross 38; Steve Drake and Shirley Caler, first net 28; Larry Jones and Sharon DeHayes, second net 28.5; Bill Farris and Megan Farris, third net 29; Keith Wass and Marcy Wass, fourth net 30; and Terry Whitney and Roxie Whitney, fifth net 31.

On Tuesday, Aug. 30, in twilight league play, for Class A, Mark Wallace finished first gross 36; Randy Berry, second gross 38; Chad Place, third gross 40; Butch Norman, first net 30; Paul Doody, second net 35; and Alan Blood and Bruce Spaulding, tied third net 36.

For Class B, Dan Eaton and Doug Wentworth tied for first gross 44; Cory Chase, second gross 45; Jim Boulier and Bill Farris, tied first net 36; and Joel Bartlett and Mike Marriner, tied second net 38.

Class A pins: Alex Fritz, 15-7 on the third; and Alan Blood, 10-5 on the ninth.

Class B pins: Bill Farris, 36-4 on the third; and Cory Chase, 12-4 on the ninth.

The second-half twilight league champions were: 1, Team 1 (Mark Wallace, Terry Whitney, Jeff Dutch, Richard Olsen, Dan Eaton, Mike Marriner, Jim Boulier); and 2, Team 6 (Mike Knox, Robb Herron, Kevin Nickerson, Butch Norman, Greg Dutch, Doug Wentworth, Phil Bowen).

MaineStay Media/VillageSoup sports staff can be reached by email at