BANGOR — Following her humble athletic beginnings at Mount View High School in Thorndike, Adrienne Shibles has made a name for herself in the sports world — including carving out a remarkable college basketball coaching career.

She has accomplished so much, especially as a coach, with her latest achievement being enshrinement in the Maine Basketball Hall of Fame on Sunday, Aug. 28 at the Cross Insurance Center.

Adrienne Shibles at Dartmouth College. Photo courtesy of Darmouth College website

Shibles was one of 14 inductees, seven legends and one team recognized in the star-studded Class of 2022.

Those honored included an executive director of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, one who has coached in 11 National Collegiate Athletic Association tournaments (Shibles), a U.S.A. Today Maine player of the year, collegiate player who notched 1,000 points and 1,000 rebounds and coach with five state titles at one school — three with girls and two with boys squads.

Shibles, the winningest coach in Bowdoin College women’s basketball history, led the Dartmouth College of Hanover, N.H. in 2021-22. While at Brunswick-based Bowdoin, Shibles guided the Polar Bears to a 281-65 (.805) record, two New England Small College Athletic Conference championships, 11 NCAA tournament appearances and back-to-back NCAA Division III title game appearances. Shibles, who has more than 400 college coaching wins, was the 2019 WBCA Division III coach of the year. She scored more than 1,000 points at Bates College and played on Mount View’s 1987 Class B East runner-up team.

Kim Condon Lane, Lauree Gott, Mark Karter, Steve LeVasseur, Rick McAvoy, Neile Joler Nelson, Crystal Pazdziorko Proulx, Jim Ray, Sharon Siebert, Ken Stone, Jeff Sturgeon, Julie Treadwell and Julie Treadwell joined Shibles in a call to the hall.

Additionally, Joni Averill, Ron Cote Dale Duff, Mark Rosebush, Malaka “Tookie” Russell, John Shaw and Harry “Pinky” True were recognized as legends of the game.

Also, the 1975 East Grand High School girls team was highlighted. This history-making team, coached by Dennis Codrey, won the first state Class D state girls title 49-41 over Richmond. It was the first state tournament for girls in Maine and it came three years after Title IX was enacted. The Vikings went on to win three more titles — in 1979, 1982 and 1983 — in the next eight years.

To mark the 50th anniversary of the landmark Title IX legislation, Maine girls and women were encouraged to share their experiences in the sport — as players, coaches, officials, reporters, and more — by filling out a questionnaire on the hall’s website. The hall planned to collect, preserve and share those educational, enlightening and inspiring stories — from playing six-on-six to coaching USA Basketball.

For more information, click here to go to the Maine Basketball Hall of Fame website.

MaineStay Media/VillageSoup sports staff can be reached by email at