WISCASSET — The track was jam-packed with exciting racing on Saturday, Oct. 1 as Wiscasset Speedway hosted its 2022 Group 2 finale and 1oth annual Amsoil Dominator Strictly Shootout.

The Strictly Shootout, founded by Dave Brannon, is the largest Strictly Street race of the season at Wiscasset. The winner’s purse traditionally is $500, but was doubled to $1,000 this year.

Numerous contingency prizes (leader at midway, hard-charger, worst draw, heat race bonuses, etc.) and lap money ($10 for each lap led) also gave competitors the opportunity to double their prize money. The race attracted some of the best drivers across New England, including Oxford Plains regulars Jordan Russell, Kyle Hewins and Richard Spaulding, among others.

The racing action kicked off with a 25-lap feature from the Kennebec Equipment Rental Outlaw Minis. Travis Poulliot took off with the early lead, but multi-time champion Jimmy Childs was quick to navigate through the field, as he broke into the top three by lap three. Childs continued his pursuit to the front, as he cleared Jason Kimball for the runner-up spot on lap seven. Points leader Kyle Willette followed in his footsteps, as he broke into the top three on lap 12. A midrace caution on lap 13 brought the field together and Childs took off from there, as he cleared Poulliot for the top spot as Willette followed in succession. Childs held strong, as he closed the 2022 points season with another win in the Outlaw Minis. Willette followed to clinch his first career championship in the division. Willette also is the first driver not named Childs or Zach Audet to win the Outlaw Mini championship since 2016. Poulliot rounded out the top three.

The Amsoil Dominator Strictly Shootout followed with out-of-car driver introductions and an exciting top-12 redraw. Although Mac Hannan Jr. was the initial polesitter of the race following qualifying, he drew third in the redraw, while Calab Emerson-Mains drew pole. Brian Caswell elected to take the “Back-to-the-Front” challenge, as he sacrificed his top starting spot for the opportunity to pick up a $500 bonus if he were to win the race.

Keith Drost and Emerson-Mains went head-to-head for the early lead in the 50-lap feature, but two early cautions stalled the racing action and led to damage to many heavy hitters’ cars, including Kurt Hewins, Kyle Hewins, Travis Lovejoy, Richard Spaulding and more. Drost pulled ahead on the restart as Hannan and Josh St. Clair filled in behind him, which resulted in a three-car breakaway by lap 15. St. Clair pedaled down on lap 25, which cleared Hannan, Jr. for the runner-up spot before he challenged Drost for the lead.

A midrace caution on lap 26 brought the field together. Drost held strong to pull away on the restart. The lead pack began to approach lap traffic with 10 laps to go, and eventually reached them on lap 45. St. Clair made a bold move with just one lap to go, as he took Drost and a lapped car three-wide as he challenged for the top spot. Drost maintained his edge as St. Clair lost momentum in the final turn, sailing into his first career (and second career Strictly Street win ever) Strictly Shootout win. Mac Hannan, St. Clair, Kurt Hewins and Jordan Russell rounded out the top five. Between lap money, heat race winnings, race earnings and other contingency prizes, Drost took home a total of $1,730 in overall winnings.

Adam Chadbourne dominated the 30-lap 88.5FM Modified feature as he led the charge early, as he pulled away from red-hot competitor Ryan Ripley after an early-race caution. Chadbourne and Ripley distanced themselves from the competition quickly, which resulted in a two-car breakaway at the front of the field. Chadbourne further distanced himself from Ripley in the closing laps of the feature, to secure his fifth win of the season in addition to another division championship. Scott Trask followed, as he rounded out the top three.

The Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Models rounded out the night with a final 40-lap feature race. Jonathon Emerson took off with the early lead in the feature, but collided with Scottie Hall on lap 10, which resulted in Emerson taking a spin in turn three. A handful of cautions followed and resulted in damage to numerous race cars, including those of Josh St. Clair, Jett Decker, Dave Farrington Jr. and Mark Lucas. A false start led to the front two rows being swapped for the restart. This put Frank Moulton into the lead, but Will Collins was on the move, as he cleared D.C. Alexander for the runner-up spot on lap 18. Collins quickly moved onto Frank Moulton, as he overtook the top spot on lap 20. Will Collins took off from there, to close out the 2022 season with his fourth consecutive win in the division and second in points to Josh St. Clair, who finished in eighth.

St. Clair again is a multi-time champion in 2022, as he took home the title in Late Models and Street Stocks.

One can celebrate 2022 champions on Saturday, Oct. 8 at the Fall Fury. The annual season-ending event features weekly divisions in addition to the T&L Automotive Roadrunners and the Wicked Good Vintage Hobby class.

The individual racing results for Oct. 1 were:

Portland Glass Strictly Streets (50 laps) – 1, Keith Drost, Etna; 2, Mac Hannan Jr., Washington; 3, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 4, Kurt Hewins, Turner; 5, Jordan Russell, South Paris; 6, Kyle Hewins, Turner; 7, Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 8, Jonathon Emerson, Oxford; 9, Ashton Burgess, Oxford; 10, Caleb Emerson-Mains, Richmond; 11, Richard Spaulding, Lisbon; 12, Joey Isrealson, Saco; 13, Clyde Hennessey, Gorham; 14, Wade Kennedy, Sebago; 15, Mark Grantham, Casco; 16, Alex Cromwell, Westport; 17, Dan Brown, Peru; 18, Landon Tapley, Washington; 19, Garrett Leiter, Winslow; 20, Mike Delano, Woolwich; 21, Shawn Gilpatrick, West Newfield; 22, Travis Lovejoy, Waterboro; 23, Brian Caswell, Buxton; 24, Andrew Glynn, Farmingdale; 25, Joe Harriman, Montville; 26, Ray Dinsmore, Limerick; 27, James Doucette, Skowhegan; 28, Ethan Dinsmore, Hope; 29, Brady Romano, Livermore Falls; 30, Jeremy Glazier, Appleton; and 31, Shawn Emery, Limerick.

Kennebec Equipment Rental Outlaw Minis (25 laps) – 1, Jimmy Childs, Leeds; 2, Kyle Willette, Winslow; 3, Travis Poulliot, Benton; 4, Jason Kimball, Pittston; 5, Bryan Robbins, Montville; 6, Ian Fraser, Belmont; 7, William Turner, Freedom; 8, Shane Smith, Augusta; 9, Tyler Dinsmore, Newcastle; and 10, Wes Turner, Freedom.

88.5FM WHCF Modifieds (30 laps) – 1, Adam Chadbourne, Woowich; 2, Ryan Ripley, Thomaston; 3, Scott Trask, Richmond; 4, Matt Sanborn, Bangor; 5, Wayne Whitten Jr., Kennebunk; 6, Tyler Robbins, Montville; 7, Garritt McKee, Dixmont; 8, Brandon Williams, Durham; 9, Steve Reno, West Bath; 10, Doug Phillips, Phillips; 11, Mark Simond, Lewiston; and 12, Kevin Sherman, Wiscasset.

Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Model Sportsman (40 laps) – 1, Will Collins, Waldoboro; 2, Chris Thorne, Sidney; 3, Frank Moulton, Clinton; 4, Dave Farrington, Jay; 5, Scott Hall, Jay; 6, Daniel Harding, Fairfield; 7, Jet Decker, Chesterville; 8, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 9, Brent Roy, Vassalboro; 10, Patrick Murphy, Woolwich; 11, D.C. Alexander, Carmel; 12, Ryan Esancy, Appleton; 13, Dave Getchell, Cornville; 14, Connor Wenners, Edgecomb; 15, Mark Lucas, Harpswell; 16, Jonathon Emerson, Oxford; 17, Matt Bourgoine, Stetson; and 18, Colton Chubbuck, Bowdoin.

Amy Worrey works for Wiscasset Speedway.