ROCKLAND — The high school basketball season is set to tip off on Friday, Dec. 9, which means WBQX and 106.9 Frank FM — as they have each year for decades — will bring that hardwood action to the airwaves.

For the 13th year, Frank FM will broadcast a slate of 32 games — not including potential playoff encounters — led by veteran broadcaster Don Shields, alongside Terry Spear and Chris Seavey.

The first game on the regular-season schedule will be a rematch of last year’s Class B South quarterfinal playoff battle as the defending state champion Oceanside girls play at Medomak Valley of Waldoboro on Friday at 7 p.m.

Other games on the docket will include teams from Camden Hills Regional High School of Rockport, Mount View High School of Thorndike, Belfast Area High School, Boothbay Region High School and Lincoln Academy of Newcastle, among others.

106.9 FRANK FM also plans to broadcast selected games involving these schools during the high school basketball tournaments in February. Every game will be streamed on 1069FRANK.com.

Michael Czarnecki, vice president of programming for Binnie Media said he is pleased 106.9 FRANK FM will continues its tradition of being the home of high school basketball in the Midcoast.

“People are passionate about high school basketball and the response to our coverage from fans and sponsors has been outstanding,” Czarnecki said. “And we also know that more people will be tuned again this year as many schools are limiting the number of fans that can attend games.”

Shields, also the voice of the University of Maine women’s basketball team, has been the voice of Midcoast high school sports since 1985, during which time he has called more than 1,750 high school games. Spear has covered basketball for more than two decades in the Midcoast, Biddeford and Bath-Brunswick markets. Seavey, a former Rockland District High School standout, has more nearly two decades of on-air experience.

The broadcast schedule, with the start time of the pregame shows listed, includes:

Friday, Dec. 9 — Oceanside at Medomak Valley girls, 6:45 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 10 — Medomak Valley at Oceanside boys, 7:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 13 — Lincoln Academy at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 16 — Mount View at Medomak Valley boys, 6:45 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 17 — Lisbon at Boothbay Region boys, 2:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 20 — Camden Hills at Medomak Valley doubleheader, girls 5:15 p.m., boys to follow.
Thursday, Dec. 22 — Belfast at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 27 — Winslow at Oceanside girls, 6:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 3 — Camden Hills at Oceanside doubleheader, girls 4:45 p.m., boys to follow.
Thursday, Jan. 5 — Medomak Valley at Lincoln Academy boys, 6:15 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 7 — Oceanside at Lincoln Academy boys, 12:15 p.m.; Lincoln Academy at Oceanside girls, 6:15 p.m.
Monday, Jan. 9 — Mount Abram at Boothbay Region boys, 6:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 10 — Mount View at Medomak Valley girls, 6:15 p.m.
Thursday, Jan. 12 — Wiscasset at Boothbay Region girls, 6:15 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 13 — Maine Central Institute at Medomak Valley boys, 6: 15 p.m.
Monday, Jan. 16 — Telstar at Boothbay girls, 12:45 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 20 — Medomak Valley at Oceanside girls, 6:15 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 21 — Oceanside at Medomak Valley boys, 5:45 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 24 — Medomak Valley at Camden Hills doubleheader, boys 4:45 p.m., girls to follow.
Thursday, Jan. 26 — Hall-Dale at Boothbay Region boys, 6:15 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 27 — Oceanside at Camden Hills doubleheader, boys 4:45 p.m., girls to follow.
Tuesday, Jan. 31 — Lincoln Academy at Medomak Valley boys, 6:45 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 3 — Maranacook at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 7 — Lincoln Academy at Camden Hills doubleheader, boys 4:45 p.m., girls to follow.
Wednesday, Feb. 8 — Richmond at Boothbay Region boys, 6:45 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 9 — Mount View at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.

MaineStay Media/VillageSoup sports staff can be reached by email at sports@villagesoup.com.