AUGUSTA — On Dec. 27 Maine Senate President Troy Jackson, D-Allagash, announced Senate committee assignments for the 131st Maine Legislature.

There are 17 joint-standing committees, a new Joint Select Committee on Housing, the Government Oversight Committee, and several Senate standing committees.

Lawmakers are assigned to legislative committees by the presiding officers, based on their interest, experience, professional background or the region of the make-up of their district. Joint Standing Committees consist of 13 members, three from the Senate and 10 from the House of Representatives.

Sen. Glenn “Chip” Curry, D-Waldo, was named to three committees.

Curry will serve on the Joint Standing Committee on Innovation, Development, Economic Advancement and Business, as well as on the Joint Standing Committee on Inland Fisheries and Wildlife.

He will also serve on the Senate Standing Committee on Engrossed Bills. This committee reviews bills passed by the Legislature before they are enacted.

Curry was sworn in earlier this month for his second term representing Waldo County in the state Senate.