To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

High school sports

Athletes earn KVAC recognition for spring excellence

Baseball, softball, tennis, lacrosse, track-and-field student-athletes honored
By Staff | Jun 14, 2019

Augusta — It was a banner spring for players, coaches and teams as dozens of Midcoast student-athletes were honored for their superlative performances in the athletic realm and classroom by the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference.

The league unveiled its all-conference and all-academic selections on Thursday, June 13, a list that includes a handful of player-of-the-year and coach-of-the-year awards from Midcoast schools.

Of those, Medomak Valley’s Greg Rice and Richard Vannah and Belfast’s Dale Nealey nabbed coach-of-year honors in baseball, softball and boys track and field, respectively; while Camden Hills Ezra LeMole and Belfast’s Josh Chun and Jack Hansen earned player-of-year honors in boys tennis (LeMole in Class A and Chun in Class B) and boys track and field.

The KVAC is made up of Class A and B schools, including Camden Hills Regional High School of Rockport, Medomak Valley High School of Waldoboro, Belfast Area High School, Oceanside High School of Rockland and Mount View High School of Thorndike.

The all-conference and all-academic selections for Midcoast student-athletes (all information comes from the league) includes:


Class A first team — Camden Hills’ Aiden Schecter.

Class A all-academic — Camden Hills’ Spencer Johndro.

Class B first team — Oceanside’s Ben Ripley.

Class B second team — Belfast’s Dakota Payson and Luke Hamlin; Mount View’s Noah Jacobs; and Medomak Valley’s Duncan Widdecombe and Ryan Creamer.

Class B coach of the year — Medomak Valley’s Greg Rice.

Class B all-academic — Belfast’s Logan McHaney, Luke Hamlin, Ryan FItzjurls and Sam Davis; Mount View’s Jackson Martin; and Oceanside’s Cole Stevens and Uriah Thongsophaphone.


Class A second team — Camden Hills’ Amanda McFarland.

Class B first team — Oceanside’s Chloe Jones and Abby Veilleux; and Medomak Valley’s Addie Jameson and Lydia Simmons.

Class B second team — Belfast’s Brooke Richards and Maya Cunningham; and Medomak Valley’s Emily Wotton.

Class B co-coach of the year — Medomak Valley’s Richard Vannah.

Class B all-academic — Belfast’s Angela Rodgers and Karagen Stone; Medomak Valley’s Addie Jameson, Aubrey Schaeffer, Lydia Simmons, Hattie Watmough and Emily Wotton; Mount View’s Alex Fountain and Emily Lancaster; and Oceanside’s Kalli Grover, Raechel Joyce and Abby Veilleux.

Boys lacrosse

South first team — Camden Hills’ Andrew Orne.

South second team — Camden Hills’ Bryce Tyler.

All-academic — Camden Hills’ James Lynch and Matt Nickerson.

Girls lacrosse

Second team — Oceanside’s Lydia Laslavic and Camden Hills’ Mary-Kate Pons.

Honorable mention — Oceanside’s Mattie Hooper.

All-academic — Camden Hills’ Capri Buck, Hazel Delehey and Kayla Olds; and Oceanside’s Jackie Hall and Mattie Hooper.

Boys tennis

Class A first team — Camden Hills’ Ezra LeMole, Henry Cooper, Charlie O’Brien, Simon Fedarko and David Poutasse.

Class A second team — Camden Hills’ Jack Lawrence and Zach Markowitz.

Class A player of the year — Camden Hills’ Ezra LeMole.

Class A all-academic — Camden Hills’ Charles Cooper, Henry Cooper, Simon Fedarko, August Gray, Zach Markowitz, Charlie O’Brien and Simon O’Shea.

Class B first team — Belfast’s Josh Chun, Eli Jolliffe, Max Lewis, Sam Spectre and Kyle Agbuya.

Class B second team — Medomak Valley’s Josh Hagin and Ian Doughty.

Class B player of the year — Belfast’s Josh Chun.

Class B all-academic — Belfast’s Max Lewis and Sam Spectre; Medomak Valley’s Alec Coughlin, Nicholas Hill and Amos Hinkley; and Oceanside’s Abe LeMole.

Girls tennis

Class A all-academic — Camden Hills’ Grace Blackwell, Eleanor Lincoln, Isabella Merrill, Brianna Quinn and Molly Woodruff.

Class B first team — Medomak Valley’s Leah Wilcox and Ellie Ashmore.

Class B all-academic — Belfast’s Jillian Clapp and Isabella Robishaw; Medomak Valley’s Claire Bourett and Leah Wilcox; and Oceanside’s Jasmine Bouchard and Laura Boutin.

Boys track and field

Class B first team — Belfast’s Andrew Akles, Donovin Armstrong, Jon Duso, Jack Hansen and Cole Martin; and Camden Hills’ Tysen DeWaard.

Class B second team — Belfast’s Max Lewis.

Don Matheson Award (Class B athlete of the year) — Belfast’s Jack Hansen.

Boys coach of the year — Belfast’s Dale Nealey.

All-academic — Belfast’s Max Lewis and Brendan Moline; Camden Hills’ Sam Hebert; Medomak Valley’s Peter Alexander and Ryan Harding; Mount View’s Kyle Noble, Cassidy Pound and Jack Valleau; and Oceanside’s Igli Bixhaku, Alex Mahar and Matthew Thomas Young.

Girls track and field

Class B first team — Belfast’s Mackenzie Banks, Lindsay Bruns, Lia Frazee, Audrey Lagerbom, Lillie Mitchell, Ada Potter and June Robertson-McIntire; and Mount View’s Sage Pound.

Class B second team — Belfast’s Shera Hilt; Camden Hills’ Augusta Stockman, Claire Wyman, Lauren Rothwell, Rose O’Brien and Miranda Dunton; and Mount View’s Shala Davis.

Don Matheson Award (Class B athlete of the year) — Belfast’s Lia Frazee.

Class B all-academic — Belfast’s Mackenzie Banks, Lauren Blood, Amy Gaiero and Tara O’Donovan; Camden Hills’ Hope Bifulco, Macy Pushaw, Lauren Rothwell, Augusta Stockman and Grace Wrona; Medomak Valley’s Kaysee Leary; and Oceanside’s Anna Poisson.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.