To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

2019 County Teachers of the Year honored

May 09, 2019
Ashley Reynolds, named Waldo County's Teacher of the Year May 9 by the Maine Department of Education.

Augusta — Ashley Reynolds, second-grade teacher at Capt. Albert Stevens School in Belfast, was among teachers from 15 of Maine’s counties honored today in the State Capitol as 2019 Maine County Teachers of the Year.

These are the county finalists for Maine Teacher of the Year, an honor awarded each year to one teacher in Maine.

“The MTOY program offers all of us the opportunity to celebrate the phenomenal work that is being accomplished every day in Maine’s public schools," said Commissioner of Education Pender Makin. "Each of the County Teachers of the Year exemplifies a deep commitment to Maine’s students and a belief in the power of education to create positive and lasting change. They bring their compassion, creativity, and innovation to the art and science of teaching, amplifying the dreams and futures of their students.

"In highlighting the accomplishments of these 15 educators, we are also honoring all of Maine’s teachers, and the outstanding talents and dedication they bring to their classrooms and communities,” Makin said.

The educators were each nominated by a member of their community for their exemplary service in education and dedication to their students. They were selected by a panel of teachers, principals and business community members from a pool of hundreds of other nominated teachers in their communities.

2019 County Teachers of the Year:

Androscoggin County: Shawn Rice, Edward Little High School, Auburn

Aroostook County: Kim Barnes, Caribou Middle School

Cumberland County: Heather Whitaker, Gorham Middle School

Franklin County: Robert Taylor, Spruce Mountain Middle/High School, Jay

Hancock County: Nell Herrmann, Blue Hill Consolidated School

Kennebec County: Emily Bowen, Hall-Dale Middle/High School, Farmingdale

Knox County: Thomas Gray, Camden Hills Regional High School

Oxford County: Linda Andrews, Buckfield Junior/Senior High School, Hartford -Sumner Elementary

Penobscot County: Tracy Deschaine, Orono Middle School

Piscataquis County: Bobbi Tardif, SeDoMoCha School, Dover-Foxcroft

Sagadahoc County: Charles Bingham, Morse High School, Bath

Somerset County: Katherine Bertini, Madison Junior High School

Waldo County: Ashley Reynolds, Capt. Albert Stevens School, Belfast

Washington County: Jeanna Carver, Jonesport Elementary School

York County: Ethel Atkinson, Bonny Eagle Middle School, Buxton

Lincoln County did not have a nominee who both met the criteria and completed the application process.

As ambassadors for teachers, students, and quality education in Maine, these teachers will continue to participate in the State Teacher of the Year selection process, including submission of a video showcasing their classroom instructional practices.

The field will be narrowed to eight semi-finalists who will begin working on their professional portfolio, a component of the National Teacher of the Year process. After the portfolio review and presentations to a select panel, the field is narrowed to three finalists. In October, the 2020 Maine Teacher of the Year will be selected after a school site visit and final interview.

The Maine Teacher of the Year is a program of the Maine Department of Education. The program is administered by Educate Maine, a business-led organization working to ensure Maine’s students and workers are the best educated and highly skilled in the world.

For more information, visit or contact Director of Communications Kelli Deveaux at 624-6747 or


If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.