A holiday ‘Nightmare’ headed to Searsport

Nov 27, 2012
Photo by: Chris Goosman The fall musical at Searsport District High School features theaters students from both the high and middle schools.

Searsport — Searsport District High and Middle School Theater programs will bring the songs of Danny Elfman and story of Tim Burton's “The Nightmare Before Christmas” to life on stage Thursday through Saturday, Dec. 6 through 8 at 7 p.m. in the cafetorium of the combined schools, Mortland Street. Tickets will be $5 at the door.

Jack Skellington, played by Julian Cross, gets plenty of fame and praise year after year for being the Pumpkin King, the master of fright from Halloween Town … but he longs for something new and different to fill up the emptiness in his bones. Stumbling upon Christmas Town, he quickly brings back the delights of Christmas to his fellow citizens.  With the endorsement of Halloween Town’s mayor (Chas Evans), nearly all of Halloween Town gets into the act of making Christmas except for Sally (Brianna Housman), Dr. Finkelstein's (Miles Martin) rag doll creation, who has fallen in love with Jack. Sally has a premonition that something is going to go terribly wrong and when Oogie Boogie's (Natty Gray) finest henchmen Lock (Colby Johnson), Shock (Paige Ireland) and Barrel (Cole Dubois) kidnap Santa "Sandy Claws" (Quin Fraser), Jack sets in motion his fated quest to take over Christmas.

Directed by Chris Goosman, “The Nightmare Before Christmas” will be accompanied by Lincoln Blake on piano. Set design, costuming and lighting were developed by SDHS alumna Jessica Ploszaj. A collection of witches, demons, ghouls and vampires, along with a Werewolf, the Mummy, Mr. Hyde, Cyclops, Behemoth, a singing tree, the Easter Bunny, and some assorted elves round out the colorful cast that includes Emma Reynolds, Meghan Grant, Malcolm Jones, Jennifer McNamara, Mariah Albanese, Katelyn Mills, alumna Renae (Curtis) Traves, Sophie Noomyenooneam, Terry Woodbury, Matthias Martin, Kaylee Knowles, Samantha Hamblen, Dylan Busko, Kim Busko, Annabelle Fuller, Naya Krienke, Shane Gallant, Jasmine Robbins, Nevada Rooney, Makayla Coyne, Brenna Newbert, Kelsie Redmond, Erin Rains, Alicen Brooks, Sarah Southard, Alivia Cross and Becca Field.

Courier Publications’ A&E Editor Dagney C. Ernest can be reached at (207) 594-4401, ext. 115 or dernest@courierpublicationsllc.com.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.