Community asset champions recognized in Belfast

May 27, 2014

In an emotional and uplifting event at Belfast Area High School on May 19, 14 individuals, organizations and programs were thanked for their good work on behalf of children and youth in Waldo County.

Recipients were:

  • Wings of Love: John Bryant Sr and Jr, Tammy Benecke
  • Linda Bowe, principal, Searsport Elementary School
  • Cinderella Project: Madie Sawyer, Jessica Woods, Tabitha Lowe
  • Dale Cross, executive director, Waldo County YMCA
  • Trish Duperry, special ed teacher, community volunteer
  • Pam Ellis, child care and afterschool director, Waldo County YMCA
  • The Game Loft, accepted by Mike Robertson and Ariel Levangie
  • Barb Rehmeyer, retired teacher and volunteer at Ivan O. Davis Library, Liberty
  • Restorative Justice Project of the Midcoast, accepted by Sarah Mattox
  • Gary Skigen, director of BCOPE
  • Linda Garson Smith, teacher at RSU 20, English as a second language
  • Leah Trommer, school programs assistant, Tanglewood and Blueberry Cove 4H
  • Tim Woitowitz, volunteer at Making Change / BCOPE, music teacher
  • Su Wood, rotary and student exchange committee member

Award presenters who shared their thoughts about the person being honored also presented the framed certificates.

Students who took part in the event included Maylinda Boynton who served as master of ceremonies of the program, McKenna Sullivan kept track of the certificates and delivered them to the presenters, and Brian Wright provided, on guitar, a musical prelude to the program. Game Loft member Zachary Barbosa made the presentation to the Loft.

The recognition event planned and carried out by the Community Anti-Drug Coalition of Healthy Waldo County highlighted the developmental assets model of positive youth development developed by the Search Institute. The program pointed out that when communities attend to the things that promote healthy youth, risky and harmful behaviors are reduced. At the conclusion of the meeting there was a strong sentiment that the recognition event should be continued annually.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.