High school basketball

Frank 106.9 FM to broadcast 34 regular-season games, plus playoffs

By Staff | Dec 04, 2018

Frank 106.9, WBQX-FM will broadcast Midcoast high school basketball for the eighth straight year beginning on Friday, Dec. 7.

Veteran broadcaster Don Shields again will lead the coverage and be joined by Terry Spear and Chris Seavey for the 34-game high school regular-season schedule that will include calling games that involve Midcoast teams Oceanside, Medomak Valley of Waldoboro, Camden Hills of Rockport, Belfast, Lincoln Academy, Boothbay Region, Mount View Searsport and Wiscasset.

The station also plans to broadcast selected games involving those schools during the high school tournaments in February from Augusta and Bangor.

All games will be streamed via the Frank 106.9 Facebook page at mixlr.com/1069bball.

Shields, who also is the voice of the University of Maine women’s basketball team, has been the voice of Midcoast high school sports since 1985, during which time he has called more than 1,300 high school games.

Spear has covered basketball for more than two decades in the Midcoast, Biddeford and Bath-Brunswick markets. Seavey, a former Rockland District High School standout, has more than a decade of on-air experience.

Stan Bennett, operations manager for Binnie Media Maine, said he is pleased FRANK 106.9 will air games again this year. “People are passionate about high school basketball in Midcoast Maine and the response to our coverage from fans and sponsors has been outstanding.”

The high school basketball broadcast schedule, with start of the pregame shows included, are as follows:

Friday, Dec. 7 — Lincoln Academy at Camden Hills boys, 6:15 p.m.

Monday, Dec. 10 — Lisbon at Boothbay Region boys, 6:45 p.m.

Tuesday, Dec. 11 — Mount View at Medomak Valley boys, 6:15 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 14 — Camden Hills at Medomak Valley, boys at 5:15 p.m. and girls at 7 p.m.

Tuesday, Dec. 18 — Oceanside at Camden Hills boys, 6:15 p.m.

Thursday, Dec. 20 — Bangor Christian at Searsport doubleheader, girls at 4:45 p.m. and boys at 6:30 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 21 — Hermon at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 28 — Belfast at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 29 — Oceanside at Belfast girls, 4:15 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 2 — Lincoln Academy at Medomak Valley, girls at 5:15 p.m. and boys at 7 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 3 — Mount View at Belfast boys, 6:15 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 4 — Mount Desert Island at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 8 — Mount View at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 10 — Maranacook at Belfast boys, 6:15 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 11 — Monmouth Academy at Wiscasset boys, 6:15 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 12 — Ellsworth at Belfast, girls at 12:45 p.m. and boys at 2:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 15 — Camden Hills at Lincoln Academy boys, 6:15 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 17 — Maine Central Institute at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 19 — Medomak Valley at Lincoln Academy, girls at 4:45 p.m., boys at 6:30 p.m.

Monday, Jan. 21 — Maranacook at Oceanside girls, 12:45 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 22 — Medomak Valley at Camden Hills, girls at 4:45 p.m., boys at 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 24 — Wiscasset at Boothbay girls, 6:45 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 25 — Boothbay Region at Wiscasset boys, 6:15 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 26 — Piscataquis at Searsport boys, 6:15 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 29 — Oceanside at Belfast boys, 6:15 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 1 — Maine Central Institute at Oceanside girls, 5:45 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 5 — Waterville at Belfast boys, 6:15 p.m.

Thursday, Feb. 7 — Medomak Valley at Oceanside boys, 6:15 p.m.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at sports@villagesoup.com or by phone at 594-4401.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.