Amateur golf

Holmes, Quinn win 40th Northport Golf Club member-guest tourney

By Staff | Aug 12, 2014
Courtesy of: Terry Whitney Larry Quinn, right, and Allen Holmes finished first in the 40th annual Northport Golf Club member-guest tournament Aug. 2-3.

Northport — Northport Golf Club has been busy since the calendar turned to August with tournaments and weekly league events.

On Aug. 10 in a variable best-ball competition, Jamie Place, Paul Jasienowski, Cecil Eastman and Phil Bowen finished first gross 146; Terry Whitney, Dick Clements, Steve Stanford and Alden Overlock, second gross 149; Bob Delio, Rick Cronin, Barry Crawford and John Amedee, first net 119; and Mike Knox, Tim Riley and Lee Robinson, second net 121.

In Class A, Jamie Place finished first gross 72; Randy Berry, second gross 73; Terry Whitney, first net 66; and Cliff Randall, second net 70. Pin winners were: Jamie Place, 16-9 on the third hole and 8-0 on the 12th; and Paul Jasienowski, 10-9 on the 18th.

In Class B, Steve Stanford finished first gross 81; Dave Wentworth, second gross 84; John Amadee, first net 66; and Phil Bowen and Barry Hopkins, tied second net 67. Pin winners were: Mark Bradstreet, 10-2 on the third; Alden Overlock, 30-5 on the 12th; and Phil Bowen, 1-9 on the 18th.

On Aug. 5 in twilight league play, in Class A, Jesse Johnson finished first gross 34; Mike Knox, second gross 36; Jeff Dutch and Randy Berry, tied third gross 39; Terry Whitney, Harvey Peterson and Greg McDaniel, tied first net 33; and Chris Tibbetts, fourth net 34. Pin winners were: Mike Knox, 3-5 on the third and 13-6 on the ninth.

In Class B, Ken Gordon finished first gross 44; Tyler McDevitt, second gross 45; Scott Hawthorne, third gross 46; Cecil Eastman, fourth gross 48; Loren Van Ness, first net 32; David Sprowl, second net 33; Mike Rovinski, third net 36; and Bill Farris, fourth net 38. the pin winners were: David Sprowl, 12-10 on the third; and Frank Field, 21-0 on the nith.

On Aug. 2-3 in the club's 40th annual member-guest event, Larry Quinn and Allen Holmes finished first, while Terry Whitney and Dave Ames finished second and Moe Eastman and Scott Haynes third.

Winners and runners-up by flight included:

Flight 1 — 1, Moe Eastman and Scott Haynes; and 2, Jerry Savitz and Bruce Spaulding.

Flight 2 — 1, Larry Quinn and Allen Holmes; and 2, Terry Fancy and Bretty Fancy.

Flight 3 — 1, Kevin Nickerson and Mike Cummings; and 2, Dave Wentworth and Jeff Smith.

Flight 4 — 1, Jeff Dutch and Paul Deeney; and 2, Chad Place and Matt Lahaye.

Flight 5 — 1, Terry Whitney and Dave Ames; and 2, Mike Knox and Mark Phillips.

Flight 6 — 1, Phil Bowen and Bob Myers; and 2, Art Leclair and Greg Dutch.

Flight 7 — 1, Frank Field and Bab Barber; and 2, Jack Johnson and Tom Jacobs.

Flight 8 — 1, Bill Farris and Larry Doolan; and 2, George Cushman and Jerry Mehuren.

Flight 9 — 1, Brian Beaulieu and Chris Sankey; and 2, Peter Doran and Jim Ballinger.

In the women's scramble, the teams of Loretta Eastman, Vivian Fuller, Susie Haynes and Elaine Bielenberg; and Annie Pickford, Shirley Caler, Jenna Caler and Melissa Pickford finished tied for first. Lois Dutch also had the shortest drive of the day.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.