To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

High school wrestling

Lions sharpen claws in sweep of five-team meet

Belfast has pinned down 17-1 dual-match record, plenty of other mat success in 2019-20
By Staff | Jan 13, 2020

Waldoboro — The Belfast wrestling team has been on a tear for the 2019-2020 campaign, and has shown no signs of slowing down.

The Lions were one of five teams to converge on Medomak Valley High School on Saturday, Jan. 11, but Belfast was the only squad to leave the meet with victories in all of its matches, as the Lions took down the host Panthers 52-30, Erskine Academy of South China 52-22, Morse of Bath 54-30 and Winslow 54-18.

The individual Belfast wrestling results, with Lion wrestlers listed first, were:

106 pounds — Hagen Chase won by forfeit over Erskine Academy and Medomak Valley.

Connor Fournier pinned Chase Nicolino, Mor; and won by forfeit over Winslow.

113 pounds — Fournier was pinned by Jake Emond, EA; and won by forfeit over Medomak Valley.

Junne Robertson-McIntire won by forfeit over Morse.

Gavynn Young won by forfeit over Winslow.

120 pounds — Young pinned Nathaniel Solorzano, EA; won by major decision over Gavin Readinger, Med; and pinned Taiton Schutt, Mor.

Caleb Hayes was pinned by Samuel Schmitt, Win.

126 pounds — Hayes was pinned by Nate Farrar, EA; won by forfeit over Medomak Valley; and was pinned by Isaiah Genthner, Mor.

132 pounds — Kaden Bonin pinned Patrick Hanley, EA; and won by forfeit over Medomak Valley and Morse.

138 pounds — Bonin pinned Damien Gilley, Win.

145 pounds — Jonah Lovejoy pinned Hugo Smith, EA; pinned Brady Carter, Med; pinned Gaige Kindlimann, Mor; and won by forfeit over Winslow.

152 pounds — Gabe Kelley lost by major decision to Timber Parlin, EA; pinned Damien Henry, Med; was pinned by Mason Savary, Mor; and pinned Allan Rogers, Win.

160 pounds — Jackson Lapierre was pinned by Aiden Larrabee, EA; was pinned by Nolan Grubb, Med; was pinned by Robert Reed, Mor; and pinned Riley Landry, Win.

170 pounds — Elijah Charbonnier pinned Alessandro Smith, EA; was pinned by Tyler Cox, Med; was pinned by Ben Brewer, Mor; and pinned Jack Dorval, Win.

182 pounds — Nathaniel Porter pinned Tristan Klemanski, EA.

Brian White pinned Colby Hyde, Med; pinned Isaak Sinclair, Mor; and pinned Alex Crews, Win.

195 pounds — White won by major decision over Isaak Peavey, EA.

Porter was pinned by Erik Benner, Med; and won by forfeit over Morse;

Josh Fairbrother pinned Nevaeh Schuchardt, Win.

220 pounds — Fairbrother pinned Nickolas Christiansen, EA; and won by forfeit over Morse.

Cameron Watts was pinned by Jakob Gess, Med.

285 pounds — Watts pinned Tyreke Hitchner, EA; pinned Déja Douglas, Mor; and was pinned by Alexander Demers, Win.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.