High school sports

Look back to move forward: Former top athletes showcased

By Staff | Aug 21, 2014

Rockland — For nearly 25 years, a Midcoast media company, Courier Publications and/or VillageSoup, has recognized the top Midcoast high school male and female athletes and that happens again for the 2013-14 school year.

Nick Mazurek of Oceanside High School and Ashley Littlefield of Belfast Area High School have emerged as the schoolboy and schoolgirl athletes of the year.

Students from Oceanside High School of Rockland/Thomaston, Camden Hills Regional High School of Rockport, Mount View High School of Thorndike, Belfast Area High School, Medomak Valley High School of Waldoboro, Vinalhaven School, North Haven Community School, Searsport District High School and Islesboro Central School are eligible for athlete-of-year honors.

The 10 finalists included student-athletes from high schools in Knox, Waldo and Lincoln counties.

The 2013-14 schoolgirl athlete-of-the-year nominees were: Belfast's Littlefield, Camden Hills' Rachel Pease, Searsport's Alicen Brooks, Oceanside's Brooke Dugan and Vinalhaven's Ashley Hamilton.

The 2013-14 schoolboy athlete-of-the-year nominees were: Oceanside's Mazurek and Nick Judge, and Camden Hills' Chandler Crans, Connor Graffam and Jack Orne.

This year's female athlete of the year came down to an extremely close decision between Lion Littlefield and Mariner Dugan. This year's male athlete of the year came down to Mariner Mazurek and Windjammer Graffam.

This year's athletes of the year will receive either a free year's subscription to The Courier-Gazette, The Camden Herald or The Republican Journal or a free year's membership to either the VillageSoup Knox or Waldo websites, as well as a yet-to-be-announced special award.

A story on Littlefield appears in the The Republican Journal and on the Waldo website, while a story on Mazurek appears in The Courier-Gazette and on the Knox website.

The following are past winners of the distinction, but keep in mind, before 2009-10, only Knox and Lincoln county student-athletes were recognized. In recent years, the notables have come from Knox, Lincoln and Waldo counties:

2012-13: Oceanside's Kennadi Grover and Belfast's Peter Kelley.

2011-12: Medomak Valley's Alanna Vose and Belfast's Jake Campbell.

2010-11: Mount View's Hayleigh Kein and Camden Hills' Jacob Powers.

2009-10: Camden Hills' Lianne McCluskey and Belfast's Jack Davis.

2008-09: Rockland's Baillie Boggs and Camden Hills' Kiefer Lammi.

2007-08: Georges Valley's Ashley Geel and Rockland's Andrew Weiss.

2006-07: Georges Valley's Ashley Geel and Camden Hills' Miles Davee.

2005-06: Rockland's Caitlin Hynes and Ben Baudanza-Sturks.

2004-05: Rockland's Caitlin Hynes and Wade Oliver.

2003-04: Georges Valley's Rachel Campbell and A.J. Staples.

2002-03: Rockland's Caitlin Grant and Mike Curtis.

2001-02: Medomak Valley's Laura Briggs and Georges Valley's Travis Magnusson.

2000-01: Camden Hills' Rebecca Stein and Georges Valley's Travis Magnusson.

1999-00: Camden-Rockport's Deedra Beveridge and Mike MacDonald.

1998-99: Camden-Rockport's Sarah Dailey and Mike MacDonald.

1997-98: Camden-Rockport's Anna Sommo and Camden Rockport's Jon Moro and Rockland's Travis Reynolds (co-boys winners).

1996-97: Medomak Valley's Alice Bishop and Camden-Rockport's Jon Moro.

1995-96: Medomak Valley's Alice Bishop and Camden-Rockport's Ian Sady.

1994-95: Camden-Rockport's Johanna Babb and Medomak Valley's Josh Nash.

1993-94: Rockland's Paula Reed and Camden-Rockport's Corey Staples.

1992-93: Camden-Rockport's Jill Young and Medomak Valley's Tyler Lupien.

1991-92: Georges Valley's Christine Rackliff and Medomak Valley's Harold Anderson.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at sports@villagesoup.com or by phone at 594-4401.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.