To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

Maine Maritime Academy recognizes outstanding members

May 12, 2020

Castine — Maine Maritime Academy Student Life Awards Committee recognized outstanding members of the MMA and Castine community at an online event April 23. The honorees had contributed to the community with service projects, athletics, employment and volunteer programs, and other co-curricular activities.

For the 19th annual awards ceremony, the Student Life Awards Committee, made up of staff and faculty, accepted nominations from the entire MMA community and selected the top five nominees in each category.

The Athletic Integration Award recognizes the positive contributions intramural, club or varsity athletes make to the campus community. It is awarded to a student athlete who has impacted campus life through leadership and collaboration with others. The winner was Nathan Granholm of Brunswick. Additional nominee were Emily Conway; Eryn Doiron; John Friend; and Maggie MacMahon.

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes two first-year students who have emerged as leaders and who can be expected to contribute significantly to the campus community and the welfare of their fellow students during their time at the Academy. Winners were Sarah Gilmore of Bangor and John Hall of Lee, N.H. Additional nominees were Rachel Borisko; Griffin DesMarteau; and John Watt.

The Non-Traditional Student Impact Award is presented to a non-traditional student who has used their life experiences to make a significant impact in the campus community including, but not limited to, campus life, academic achievement, leadership, and community service. The winner was Joshua Blaine of Bangor. Additional nominees were Finn Becker; Brian Graff; Jeffrey Huhn; and Nickolaus Lewis.

The Outstanding Collaboration Award recognizes a member of the student body who has collaborated with multiple constituencies. This student has led with integrity to unify the student body and make significant contributions to the greater campus community. The winner was Keith Jordan of Waltham. Additional nominees were Olivia LeBlanc; Maggie MacMahon; Caiden Shea; and Avae Traina.

The Award for Outstanding Contribution to Residential Life is presented to a student who has made significant contributions to the community and experience of students living in the residence halls. The winner was Rachel Bunker of Ellsworth. Additional nominees were Sarah Gilmore; Maxwell Mattson; Bryant Peterson; and Nicholas Racioppi.

Student Employee of the Year Award recognizes a student worker who has demonstrated a high quality of work, leadership skills, and impact on the department in which he or she works. The winner was George Albert of Powhatan, Va. Additional nominees were Rachel Bunker; Derek Chapman; Jakob Hemmerlein; and Avery O’Neal.

Student Government Association Leadership Award recognizes a student affiliated with the Student Government Association who has shown immense integrity and perseverance in striving to improve student life and welfare. The winner was Oliver Higgins of Bangor. Additional nominees were Elise Allen; Keith Jordan; Gloria Kelley; and Jessica Lindsay.

Mariner Pride is a community-wide nomination that honors an organization, event, or activity that enhances Mariner Pride by bringing people together and helping to strengthen the campus community. The winner was the Women’s Volleyball Team. Additional nominees were Monomoy Team 2019; Ocean Studies Department; Sea Scouts Organization; and Women’s Basketball Team.

The Sarah F. Hudson Unsung Mariner Award is a student-nominated award given to a faculty or staff member for demonstrating outstanding community service and support of student life. The winner was Chris Grindle of Bucksport. Additional nominees were Amy Gutow; Riana Sidelinger; Christine Spratt; and Kyle Willette.

The Phyllis Tenney Community Service and Leadership Award is presented to the student who has displayed outstanding dedication and loyalty to MMA, commitment and service to the Castine community, exemplary leadership skills, and has also achieved great success academically and socially at MMA. The winner was Geoffrey Knight of Bangor. Additional nominees were Abigail L’Abbe and Mary Shea.

Maine Maritime Academy is a coeducational, public college on the coast of Maine offering programs of study in engineering, management, science, and transportation. For more information, visit

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.