High school sports

Midcoast athletes among KVAC all-conference, all-academic

Camden Hills' Alex girls soccer player of year, three area coaches honored
By Staff | Nov 12, 2012

Augusta — The Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference has unveiled its all-conference and all-academic selections, which provided positive news for many high school student-athletes and coaches in Knox, Waldo and part of Lincoln County.

A bundle of local athletes who participate in boys and girls soccer, cross country, field hockey and golf were first-team all-conference, second-team all-conference or all-academic selections, while three local coaches also were named coach of the year for their respective sports.

The following is a recap of the KVAC awards for all participating schools. With the exception of Oceanside golf (Class A), all other local athletes competed in the league's Class B division:

Cross country — Camden Hills' Ben Trapani, Brittany Bowman, Hannah Brownawell and Emily Lopez, first-team all-conference; Oceanside's Abby Hersom, first-team all-conference; Camden Hills' Samantha Morse and Jacqueline Russell, second-team all-conference; Oceanside's Riley Simmons, second-team all-conference; Belfast's Jonathan Clapp, Geneva Bielenberg, Maria Swebilius and Grant Williams, all-academic; Camden Hills' Eddie McCluskey, Brownawell, Lopez and Alden Parker, all-academic; and Medomak Valley's Abby Vail, all-academic. Camden Hills girls coach Becky Flanagan also was the coach of the year for the second straight season.

Field hockey — Belfast's Madison Cummings, Katrina Lapham and Julia Ward, first-team all-conference; Camden Hills' Alice Flint, first-team all-conference; Mount View's Brittany Masessa, first-team all-conference; Oceanside's Hannah Plourde, first-team all-conference; Camden Hills' Alyssa Williams, second-team all-conference; Mount View's Kersey Boulay and Abby Stubbs, second-team all-conference; Oceanside's Emma Davis and Jackie Thorbjornson, second-team all-conference; Belfast's Courtney Drinkwater, Lapham and Ward, all-academic; Camden Hills' Flint, Rebecca Gray, Chelsea Hunter, Avary Lamont, Megan LeGage, Zia Sulick and Camilla Walker, all-academic; Mount View's Abbie Charrier, Larissa Hannan, Krystyn Keating, Masessa, Andrea Smith, Abigail Stubbs and Anna Tsomides, all-academic; Oceanside's Danielle Bedard, Casey Carroll, Emma Davis, Phoebe Ferraiolo and Plourde, all-academic.

Golf — Belfast's Tim Sticht, all-conference; Camden Hills' Daulton Wickenden and Julian Starbird, all-conference; Mount View's Austin Higgins, all-conference; Belfast's Larry Dyer III, all-academic; Oceanside's Luke Rector and Bethany Schulberg all-academic; Oceanside's Keenan Flanagan, Class A Central Division coach of the year; and Camden Hills' Mark Wallace, Class B coach of the year.

Girls soccer — Camden Hills' Kristina Alex and Caroline Matteo, first-team all-conference; Medomak Valley's Maria Ennamorati and Amanda Hendrickson-Belloguet, first-team all-conference; Oceanside's Rachel Frye and Emma Spencer, first-team all-conference; Belfast's Rachel Kahn, second-team all-conference; Camden Hills' Lexi Doudera, second-team all-conference; Medomak Valley's Elise Wallace, second-team all-conference; Mount View's Mikell Grant, second-team all-conference; Oceanside's Kennadi Grover, second-team all-conference; Belfast's Kahn and Killyan Richards, all-academic; Camden Hills' Alex, Autumn Coyle, Doudera, Christina Forcillo, Matteo, Kathleen Pratt, Sarah Scott, Cailand Sweeting, Emily Turner-Watts, Abigail White and Haley Williams, all-academic; Medomak Valley's McKenzie Belcher, Ennamorati, Hendrickson-Belloguet, Danielle Hunt, Desiree Leary, Heidi Obuchon, Jessica Prescott, Taylor Simmons and Wallace, all-academic; Mount View's Kaitlin Leavitt, Alexis Morse and Kaitlin Willis, all-academic; Oceanside's Frye and Katherine Waters, all-academic; Camden Hills' Alex, Class B player of the year; and Camden Hills' Meredith Messer, Class B coach of the year.

Boys soccer — Belfast's Yanni Rakis, first-team all-conference; Camden Hills' Trueman Moore and Peter Vannorsdall, first-team all-conference; Mount View's Lorenzo Milani, first-team all-conference; Oceanside's Lars Feuerlein, first-team all-conference; Belfast's Andrew Violette, second-team all-conference; Mount View's James Philbrook, second-team all-conference; Oceanside's Drew Townsend, second-team all-conference; Camden Hills' Alex Blohm, Weston Bryant and Gabe Doble, all-academic; Medomak Valley's Conor Dahlberg, Kerry Madden, Brandon Soper and Vincent Vannah, all-academic; Mount View's Trevor Diemer and James Philbrick, all-academic; and Oceanside's Danessa MacDonald (manager), all-academic.

Cheering — Medomak Valley's Kelsie Grady, all-academic; and Mount View's Lindsey Lizotte and Katelyn Ross, all-academic.

Courier Publications sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at sports@courierpublicationsllc.com.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.