Youth sports

Mount View boys prevail in Searsport Invitational

Corinth girls also work way to championship of middle school-age event
By Staff | Mar 22, 2013
Photo by: Ken Waltz Belfast's Stan Sturgis, right, makes a pass against Gardiner as teammate Aaron Fuller (12) moves up the court during the Searsport Invitational, a basketball tournament for seventh- and eighth-graders March 16-17 at Searsport District High School.

Searsport — The Searsport Invitational Basketball Tournament went off without a hitch at Searsport District High School Saturday and Sunday, March 16-17, with several Waldo County squads vying for hardwood supremacy in the double-elimination seventh-and eighth-grade tournament.

And after two full days of competition, it was the Mount View boys and the Corinth girls who raised their respective tournament trophies high for all to see.

Mount View staved off Waldo County-rival Belfast 45-43 to claim the boys crown, while Corinth handled Winterport 35-13 in the finals to win the girls title.

Click for photos from the tournament.

Teams from Mount View, Belfast, Gardiner, Holbrook, Lawrence of Fairfield and host Searsport participated on the boys side, while teams from Belfast, Mount View, Winterport, Corinth and host Searsport participated on the girls side.

Scores from Sunday's games included: Belfast girls 23, Searsport 19; Corinth 38, Mount View 13; Winterport girls 22, Belfast 20; Searsport boys 54, Lawrence 24; Corinth girls 35, Winterport 13 (girls final); Gardiner boys 48, Lawrence 26; Belfast boys 50, Searsport 36; Mount View boys 47, Holbrook 28; Mount View boys 45, Belfast 43 (boys final).

Scores from Saturday's games were unavailable.

The following is a list of rosters for local squads:

Team members for the Mount View boys included C.J. Ingraham, Kalvin Croteau, Alex Cleaves, Devin Davis, Colby Robbins, Colby Furrow, Emmett Shell, Joey Danna and Jarod Taylor.

Team members for the Belfast boys included Skylar Perkins, Ricky Smith, Stan Sturgis, Tyler Bartlett, Zane Bielenberg, Garrett Hamlin, Aaron Fuller, Sam Goguen and Nolan Woods.

Team members for the Searsport boys included Connor Kneeland, Caleb Ackley, Chris Evans, Devon Bean, Barrett Grant, Liam MacMillan and Ben Powell.

Team members for the Mount View girls included Ashlyn Parker, Haley LaRochelle, McKenna Gibbs, Aleesha Spaulding, Angela Strain, Alexis Ramee, Vanessa Grotton, and Andrea Crosby.

Team members for the Belfast girls included Emma Mehuren, Rayhana Luther, Alexia Sweet, Ailson Defeo, Callie Cook, Katie King, Kelsey Mehuren, Macy Gale, Rainey Knowlton and Karlee Parker.

Team members for the Searsport girls included Kaylee Knowles, Brooklynn Alberts, Hannah Nadeau, Audrey Walker, Chelsey Gibbs, Kayley Parker, Elizabeth Hustus, Alexis Loring, Jillian Hartman and Meghan Grant.

In the boys final, Mount View avenged its only loss of the tournament by rebounding to win the tournament.

Belfast led 19-16 at halftime.

Leading Mount View was Shell with 18 points, while Furrow added 15; Ingraham, four; Croteau and Davis, both three; and Danna, two. Shell scored 16 of his 18 points in the second half to lead the Mustang resurgence.

For Belfast, Sturgis tossed in 16 points, while Bielenberg added 10; Hamlin, six; Woods, four; Goguen, three; and Bartlett and Smith, both two.

Belfast netted 7-of-13 free throws (54 percent) and Mount View 13-of-15 (87 percent).

Mount View led by four points with less than 30 seconds to go when Bielenberg canned a 3-pointer from the left wing to cut Belfast's deficit to one point.

Belfast then fouled with six seconds to go, while a Mount View player made the first of two free-throw attempts to give Mount View a 45-43 lead.

Belfast then raced down the court and got Bielenberg an open look at a 3-pointer for the possible win, but the ball rattled out, which gave Mount View the win and the tournament crown.

In Belfast's 40-39 win over Mount View Saturday night, Bielenberg netted two 3-pointers with less than 30 seconds to play — including the game-winner as time expired.

Courier Publications sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.