To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

Mount View Chamber Singers presents 2019 Carols in the Round tour

Nov 25, 2019

STATEWIDE — The Mount View Chamber Singers of Mount View High School in Thorndike opens the 29th annual edition of Carols in the Round on Thanksgiving weekend; the holiday concert tour runs well into December. Admission to the concerts is free, although donations for tour expenses are welcome.

The Carols in the Round concert gets its name from its format. Students in the four voice parts surround the audience on all four sides, singing a cappella holiday music. The singers, using candles to illuminate their music, slowly shift around the room during the course of each concert.

Rebecca Childs conducts the ensemble, a group of 20 high school students, for her second year. In past years the group presented their music to many people and many cultures. Funding for tours is raised in part from the sales from the CDs recorded by the group.

Performances on the 2019 tour are: Saturday, Nov. 30, at 4 p.m. at Riverside Congregational Church, Vassalboro, and 7 p.m. at Freedom Congregational Church; Sunday, Dec. 1, at 4 p.m. at Old Town United Baptist Church, and 7 p.m. at Hampden Highlands United Methodist Church; Monday, Dec. 2, at 4 p.m. at Guilford United Methodist Church; Tuesday, Dec. 3, at 7 p.m. at Unity United Methodist Church; Wednesday, Dec. 4, at 7 p.m. at Crossroads to Calvary, Morrill; Thursday, Dec. 5, at 7 p.m. at Vassalboro United Methodist Church; Friday, Dec. 6, at 7 p.m. at Waterville First Baptist Church; Saturday, Dec. 7, at 4 p.m. at Penny Memorial Church, Augusta, and 7 p.m. at Boothbay Harbor Congregational Church; Sunday, Dec. 8, at 4 p.m. at Winslow Congregational Church, Lithgow St., and 7 p.m. at New Beginnings Church of God, Waterville; Monday, Dec. 9, at 7 p.m. at Searsmont Methodist Church; Tuesday, Dec. 10, at 7 p.m. at Kennebec Valley Baptist Church, Waterville; Wednesday, Dec. 11, at 7 p.m. at Faith Temple Church, Belfast; Thursday, Dec. 12, at 7 p.m. at Sacred Heart Church, Hallowell; Friday, Dec. 13, at 7 p.m. at St. Denis Church, Whitefield; Saturday, Dec. 14, at 4 p.m. at Williston-Immanuel United Church, Portland, and 7 p.m. at Basilica of Peter and Paul, Lewiston; Sunday, Dec. 15, at 4 p.m. at United Christian Church, Lincolnville, and 7 p.m. at Stockton Springs Community Church; Monday, Dec. 16, at 7 p.m. at Chestnut Street Baptist Church, Camden; Friday, Dec. 20, at 7 p.m. at St. Anne’s Episcopal Church, Calais; Saturday, Dec. 21, at 2 p.m. (Atlantic Time) at Stone Church, St. John, New Brunswick, and 7 p.m. at Church of Universal Fellowship, Orono.

Visit the Mount View Chamber Singers on Facebook for more information.

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at waldo.villagesoup.com/join.
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at waldo.villagesoup.com/donate.
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.