Stock car racing

No Childs left behind: Leeds driver scores top of the Outlaw Mini class

By Sophie D. Gabrion | Sep 20, 2016

Wiscasset — August was a busy month at Wiscasset Speedway with packed grand stands, amazing business sponsors and events every weekend. At the end of the day, it’s all about the drivers and how they perform – both on and off the track.

Each month during the season, the track recognizes a competitor who demonstrates quality sportsmanship through actions toward other drivers and fans. On Saturday, Sept. 17, the Wiscasset Speedway family presented August’s Driver of the Month Award to Dave “Boss Hogg” St. Clair from Liberty. Notable as a long time track competitor and obvious fan favorite, the crowds went wild as the Boss Hogg accepted the award but cheered even louder a moment later – it was time to start the engines and get racing.

The Kennebec Equipment Rental Outlaw Mini 25-lap Spotlight Race started calmly, with the 2014 Outlaw Mini Champion, Jimmy Childs, steadily gaining the lead. Before reaching the fifth lap, several competitors had broken from the pack to join him, including Brady Romano and Zach Audet. Not far behind was Shawn Kimball, who had moved forward from the middle of the field using some impressive speed on the corners.

Ten laps in, Kimball had passed Romano and Audet to trail behind Childs by mere inches. Just as Kimball was about to take the lead in lap 14, the night’s first caution was called when Audet stalled in turn three after quickly dropping down through the ranks due to apparent mechanical issues. After the green flag, Childs battled Kimball to maintain first as the latter attacked from the outside lane.

Meanwhile, Cody Tribbett had creeped up to round out the top three and replace Kimball’s place directly up Childs’ bumper. Still neck and neck with Kimball when the white flag flew, Childs emptied his tank and held his own for his first win of the season. Kimball placed second and Tribbett took home third.

Tyler Robbins was not playing around for the Late Model Sportsman 35-lap feature race, and took an immediate lead. The powerhouse division slowed for a caution in lap four, when Dan Smart and Cory Poulin tangoed each other coming out of turn one.

Back in the action, Robbins was forced to defend his lead from Dan Trask and Ben Erskine, both of whom were making the most out of the regroup. By lap ten, Erskine had broken free from behind Trask and hauled axles to catch Robbins half a straightaway ahead. By the halfway point, Erskine was battling slow traffic through lapped cars to keep his grasp on Robbins.

Josh St. Clair worked his way up from the back to hold the third position, followed closely by the 2016 Coastal 200 Champion, Chris Thorne. Just when spectators thought you could not fit more division leaders into the top five, Nick Hinckley flew out of nowhere up the outer lane. Thorne and St. Clair work their beastly rides past Erskine into the top three and everything appeared to be as it would end when the white flag dropped. With his early efforts paying off, Robbins claimed first but at the last minute, St. Clair pushed his car to the limit and grabbed second from Thorne in a dramatic photo finish.

Other races of the night included the Nelcar Legends, where Chris Burgess won his first race of the season, followed by Thomas Everson and Bob Weymouth.

Sponsored by NAPA, the Modifieds 30-lap feature race jumped off to a shaky start, when Jon McCarron spun off the wall out of turn one before the entire pack had even crossed the start line. Joseph Williams held other drivers back by at least a full straightaway until lap 14, when the race’s second caution – again involving McCarron – brought the pack back together again.

Action stalled for some division drama to play out, through which Williams continued to regain first time and time again. Despite being dogged by division points leader, Mark Lucas, less than a second behind, Williams pulled out a win with Lucas in second and Allan Moeller in third.

Last up were the Strictly Streets, where a packed field keep the race high action, if slow moving. With a full field and the hour getting late, track officials called the 25-lap feature at 16-laps, which left Zach Emerson in first, Brian Robbins in second and Michael Haynes in third.

Official results from Sept. 17:

Outlaw Minis (35 laps) — 1, Jimmy Childs, Leeds; 2, Shawn Kimball, Augusta; 3, Cody Tribbet, Richmond; 4, Tim Collins, Farmington; 5, Brady Romano, Livermore Falls; 6, Bryan Lancaster, Skowhegan; 7, Jake Hendsbee, Whitefield; 8, Brent Roy, Vassalboro; 9, Shane Smith, Augusta; and 10, Zach Audet, Skowhegan.

Late Model Sportsman (35 laps) — 1, Tyler Robbins, Montville; 2, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 3, Chris Thorne, Sidney; 4, Ben Erskine, Farmington; 5, Nick Hinckley, Wiscasset; 6, Andrew McLaughlin, Harrington; 7, Shane Clark, Winterport; 8, Ryan St. Clair, Liberty; 9, Dan Trask, Chelsea; 10, Brandon Bailey, Woolwich; 11, Puncin St. Clair, Liberty; 12, Dave St. Clair, Liberty; 13, Jay Bailey, Wiscasset; 14, Richard Jordan, Kingfield; 15, Alex Waltz, Walpole; 16, Steve Chicoine, Portland; 17, Cody Verrill, Richmond; 18, Dan Smart, Buxton; 19, Will Collins, Waldoboro; and 20, Cory Poulin, Augusta.

Nelcar Legends (25 laps) — 1, Chris Burgess, Buckfield; 2, Thomas Everson, Gimanton, N.H.; 3, Bob Weymouth, Topsham; 4, Austin Terras, Windham; 5, Kevin Girard Jr., Old Orchard Beach; 6, Ed Getty, Gray; 7, Anthony Pagliarulo, Groveland, Mass.; 8, Peter Craig, Poland; 9, Matt Chagnot, Derry, N.H.; and 10, Kayla King, Buxton.

Modifieds (30 laps) — 1, Joseph Williams, Woowich; 2, Mark Lucas, Harpswell; 3, Allan Moeller, Dresden; 4, Shawn Austin, Norridgewok; 5, Shane Haherl, Jay; 6, Ryan Chadwick, Wiscasset; 7, Richard Jordan, Kingfield; 8, Jon McCarron, Palmyra; 9, Todd Ladd, Farmington; 10, Ron Bryant, Livermore Falls; 11, Nick Reno, West Bath; 12, Adam Chadbourne, Wiscasset; and 13, Tom Young, Freeport.

Strictly Streets (16 laps*) — 1, Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 2, Bryan Robbins, Montville; 3, Michael Haynes, Livermore; 4, Guy Childs, Lewiston; 5, Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus; 6, Ethan Dinsmore, Hope; 7, Tiger Colby, Wiscasset; 8, Jay Avery, Buckfield; 9, Dylan Varney, Windham; 10, Kurt Hewins, Leeds; 11, Kimberly Knight, Chesterfield; 12, Gary Davis, no town given; 13, Mike Taylor, Boothbay; 14, Faith Cleaves, Freeport; 15, Jeff Davis, Woolwich; 16, Brett Osmond, Wiscasset; 17, Phil Main Jr., Edgecomb; 18, Richard Spaudling, Lewiston; and 19, Richard Green, Augusta.

*Race length reduced from 25 to 16 laps due to time.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.

Staff Profile

Holly Vanorse Spicer
Editorial Assistant/theSCENE Director
207-594-4401, ext. 119
Email Me

Holly has been part of the team at Courier Publications since mid-2009, working mostly with the sports department, but occasionally lending a hand throughout the company.

When she's not in the office, Holly enjoys spending time with her family, and can often be found in her garden, kayaking, running with her son, working out, or working with others through her personal training and coaching.

Recent Stories by Holly Vanorse Spicer