Amateur golf

Northport Golf Club hands out season awards

By Staff | Sep 25, 2012

Northport — Northport Golf held its annual awards banquet Sept. 16 and presented trophies to the following champions for 2012:

Men's club championship — Jamie Jackson first and Jesse Johnson runner-up. First Flight: Larry Quinn first and Terry Whitney runner-up. Second Flight: Rick Cronin first and Dave Wentworth runner-up. Third Flight: Tom Tuttle first and Phil Bowen runner-up

Women's club championship — Pam Wendell first and Elaine Bielenberg runner-up.

President's Cup — Men: Cecil Eastman first and Tyler McDevitt runner-up. Women: Jean Brown first and Elaine Bielenberg runner-up.

Four-Ball — Jake Thompson and Paul Schelble first and Dave Wentworth and Cliff Randall runners-up.

Member-Member — Men: Cecil Eastman and Moe Eastman. Women — Sue Hodgkins and Roxie Whitney.

Seniors — Paul Jasienowski first and Tim Riley runner-up.

Super Seniors — Duke Marston first and Larry Quinn runner-up.

Scotch — Frank Field and Jean Brown, first gross; and Paul Doody and Val Doody, first net.

Most improved — Men: Mike Knox. Women: Mary Ann Darbelnet.

Player of the year — Cecil Eastman.

Claude Clement Meritorious Service Award — Joan Bowen.

In twilight league play Sept. 11, in a best ball format, Jesse Johnson and Corey Chase finished first gross 36; Mike Knox and Duke Marston, as well as Larry Quinn and Paul Jasienowski, tied for second gross 37; Terry Whitney and Paul Doody, first net 30; and Chris Tibbetts and Harvey Peterson, second net 31.

In sweeps, Mike Knox finished first gross 37; Jesse Johnson and Moe Eastman, tied for second gross 38; Chris Tibbetts, fourth gross 39; Corey Chase, first net 32; Harvey Peterson and Paul Doody, tied second net 34; and Larry Quinn, fourth net 35.

The pin winners were: Larry Quinn, 29-3 on the third hole; and Paul Doody, 18-0 on the ninth.

Courier Publications sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.