To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

What do you think?

Poll: Which NFL playoff team wins Super Bowl?

Previous poll shows majority not in favor of professional sports indigenous mascot changes
By Staff | Jan 05, 2021

The National Football League regular season has come to a close, and 14 teams take the next step toward a Super Bowl championship in the COVID-19 era.

The end of the regular campaign brings with it the start of the next Courier Publications/VillageSoup sports poll as well, as the sports staff asks: Which NFL playoff team will win the Super Bowl?

Scroll to vote, or click here.

The playoffs begin on Saturday and Sunday, Jan. 9-10, with three games each day in the Wildcard Round, while No. 1 seeds Kansas City (American Football Conference) and Green Bay (National Football Conference) receive first-round byes to the Divisional Round, slated to take place on Saturday and Sunday, Jan. 16-17.

To see the Wildcard Round matchups, click here.

The previous sports poll touched on the controversial topic of professional sports mascots of indigenous peoples.

The majority of voters — 60.6 percent to be exact — believe mascots should not change, and the world has become too sensitive, while 28.7 percent believe the mascots should be changed to something else. The remaining 10.7 percent believe a mascot change should be on a case-by-case basis.

The Washington Football Team of the NFL and Cleveland Indians of Major League Baseball announced in 2020 they would no longer go by the Redskins and Indians. Washington changed its name immediately, while Cleveland will be known as the Indians until a new mascot is chosen.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.

NFL playoffs poll
If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.
Note: If you signed up using our new subscriber portal, your username is the email address you registered with and your password is in all caps