Stock car racing

Prindall claims third straight win in New England 4-Cylinder Pro Stocks

By Lisa Maguire | May 19, 2014

Wiscasset — The inclement weather on Saturday, May 17 did not bode well for Wiscasset Speedway race time, but, by 3 p.m., the skies had cleared and the track had dried.

Despite the cooler temperatures and the rain of the morning, diehard fans were there at the track ready to watch racing action. On the agenda was the group one division; Pro Stock, Napa Super Street, Outlaw Minis and New England 4-Cylinder Pro Stocks. The flex race of the week was a 50-lap Enduro feature.

First on the track was the spotlighted race of the week, a 35 lap Napa Super Street feature. Starting at the pole was Bryan Robbins. Behind him were Zach Poland and Dan Nessmith. Robbins roared off the start to take a three-car lead. James Osmond passed Nessmith during lap one to take third. During lap two, Adam Chadbourne moved from behind and passed both Osmond and Poland on the inside of the front stretch for second,

There was a caution called during lap two, and, on the restart, Osmond passed Poland for third. Lap three saw Chadbourne pass Robbins on the inside of turn three for first place. Osmond then moved up the track and headed to the outside and passed Robbins for second.

Shawn Austin moved to third during lap seven when Osmond and Robbins made contact on the track. Josh Bailey passed Austin on the outside of turn three during lap eight for third. Bailey then gained ground on Robbins, and caught him during lap 10, when he passed for second.

Chadbourne came into the race as points leader in his division, with 114. Josh Bailey and James Osmond were tied for second, each with 110 points.

Bailey took second. Rounding out the top three was Bryan Robbins.

A 25-lap Outlaw Mini feature was action-packed. Shawn Kimball was at the pole. Nate Tribbet and Jimmy Childs were behind him. Tribbet passed Kimball off the start for first, but Kimball reclaimed his first-place start during the same starting lap. Childs dropped back and Ryan Glover slid into third during lap one. Glover pressed his advance and passed Tribbet for second on the outside of turn three during lap one. There was a caution during lap six. When racing action resumed Childs passed Tribbet on the outside for third.

Justin Larson passed Childs on the inside of the front stretch to take third during lap nine. Childs and Larson raced furiously for third place, but Larson held onto his lead to keep the position. Childs was points champion heading into the race, with 110. Childs placed fourth.

Kimball placed first. Kimball came into Saturday’s race in fifth place in the championship, with 82 points. Saturday’s win will raise his point standing, of coure.

Glover placed second and Larson third.

Ten New England 4 Cylinder Pro Stocks cars hit the track for a 25-lap race. Starting at the pole was Bob Patten. Behind him were Dave Patten and Nate McWilliams.

When the green flag waved there was a jumble as cars jockeyed for position. Jeff Prindall moved to the outside from his eighth starting place, passed four cars, and then passed McWilliams for third.

Dave Patten passed Bob Patten on the outside of turn two during lap one for first. Prindall followed suit and passed Bob Patten on the outside of the backstretch for second.

Prindall looked for his opportunity to take first place. His chance came during lap five when he moved to the inside of turn four and passed Dave Patten for first.

During lap eight, Kamren Knowles passed Bob Patten on the inside of turn one for third.

The cars flew under the checkered in the same racing order. Prindall placed first, Dave Patten second and Kamren Knowles third.

It was Prindall’s third win of the season. Prindall came into Saturday’s race as poinsts leader with 118. His closest competitor was Craig Dunn, with a 12-point difference between them coming into the race.

A quick, straightforward 30-lap Pro Stock feature was next. Starting at the pole was the Bill Penfold. Behind him were Mike Orr and Nick Hinkley.

The cars were well-matched on the field. Penfold, Orr, and Hinkley vied for position. Penfold pulled ahead and was able to keep the racing field in his rear view mirror for the entire race. Orr challenged Penfold numerous times, but Penfold held onto his lead.

Orr was points leader coming into Saturday’s race. Orr had 110 points. Tied for second were Nick Hinkley and Bill Penfold with 108 points. The close race kept the points leaders in the top three.

Penfold took the win, Orr placed second and Hinkley third.

The flex race of the week was a 100-lap Enduro. Due to heavy fog, the race length was changed to 50 laps. Starting at the pole was Mike St Germain. Behind him were Ron Whitcomb and Vernon Hodgkins III.

Donald Nashawaky moved from behind and passed Hodgkins for third. Mike Marshall was an early contender, but a pit stop put him back in laps.

Germain was not passed once during the entire race, and placed first. Coming in second was Nashawaky and third went to Whitcomb.

The individual results from May 17 racing were:

Napa Super Street (35 laps) — 1, Adam Chadbourne, Woolwich; 2, Josh Bailey, Wiscasset; 3, Bryan Robbins, Montville; 4, Shawn Austin, Norridgewock; 5, Zach Poland, Woolwich; 6, Kevin Morse, Woolwich; 7, James Osmond, Wiscasset; 8, Paul Hopkins, Camden; and 9, Dan Nessmith, Wiscasset.

Outlaw (25 laps) — 1, Shawn Kimball, Augusta; 2, Ryan Glover, Mexico; 3, Justin Larson, Farmingdale; 4, Jimmy Childs, Leeds; 5, Nate Tribett, Richmond; 6, Chris Blanchard, Clinton; and 7, Matt Moore, Mechanic Falls.

New England 4-Cylinder Pro Stock (25 laps) — 1, Jeff Prindall, Lisbon Falls; 2, Dave Patten, Westbrook; 3, Kamren Knowles, West Gardiner; 4, Bob Patten, Westbrook; 5, Chuck Harris, Newcastle; 6, Craig Dunn, Strong; 7, Nathan McWilliams, Lewiston; 8, James Bailey, Alna; 9, John Shorey, Alna; and 10, Cameron Folsom, Augusta.

Pro Stock (30 laps) — 1, Bill Penfold, Oxford; 2, Mike Orr, Wiscasset; 3, Nick Hinkley, Wiscasset; 4, Maggie Ferland, Auburn; and 5, Matt Sanborn, Westbrook.

Enduro (50 laps) — 1, Mike St Germain; 2, Donald Nashawaky; 3, Ron Whitcomb; 4, Joe Katula; 5, Dan Wade; 6, Shawn Rines; 7, Roy Glidden; 8, Mike Marshall; 9, Paul Lyon; 10, Vernon Hodgkins III; and 11, Jarrett Byrnes.

Lisa Maguire writes for Wiscasset Speedway.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.