Republicans, Democrats field candidates for all local seats

By Carolyn Zachary | Mar 17, 2020
Source: File photo

Augusta — The 5 p.m. Monday deadline for party candidates to file nomination papers to appear on the June 9 primary ballot passed with all Waldo County races contested.

Following are the candidates who filed for state legislative seats representing the county in the Senate and local municipalities in the House. Unenrolled candidates, also known as independents, have until June 1 to file nomination papers to have their names appear on the Nov. 3 general election ballot together with those of party candidates.

Senate District 11 (Waldo County)

In the county's only primary contest, three Democrats will vie June 9 for their party's nomination for State Senate: Glenn Curry of Belfast, Charles Pattavina of Winterport and Robyn Stanicki of Belfast. The winner will face Republican Duncan Milne of Liberty in November in the race to succeed Democratic Sen. Erin Herbig, who is Belfast's new city manager and will not seek a second term.

House District 96

Republican Katrina Smith of Palermo has filed to run against incumbent Democratic Rep. S. Paige Zeigler of Montville to represent those towns plus Belmont, Liberty, Lincolnville, Morrill and Searsmont.

House District 97

Republican Matthew Digioia of Belfast is challenging incumbent Rep. Janice Dodge, D-Belfast, for the seat representing the city as well as the towns of Northport and Waldo. Dodge is seeking her second term.

House District 98

Republican Jessica Connor of Searsport has filed to run for the seat currently held by Rep. Scott Cuddy, D-Winterport. Cuddy is looking for a second term representing Frankfort, Searsport, Swanville and Winterport.

House District 99

Republican Rep. MaryAnne Kinney of Knox will again face Democratic challenger April Turner of Freedom for the seat representing Brooks, Burnham, Freedom, Jackson, Knox, Monroe, Thorndike, Troy and Unity. Turner opposed Kinney in the 2018 election. Kinney was first elected to the seat in 2014.

House District 131

Incumbent Rep. Sherman Hutchins, R-Penobscot, will face Democratic challenger Veronica Garvey Magnan of Stockton Springs to represent this district (Stockton Springs, Prospect, Dedham, Orland, Otis, Penobscot and Verona Island). Magnan ran unsuccessfully against former Rep. Karl Ward for the seat in 2014. Hutchins, first elected in 2018, is seeking his second term.

Comments (2)
Posted by: Sarah Reynolds | Mar 20, 2020 14:12

Corrected. -Ed.

Posted by: Duncan Scott Milne | Mar 18, 2020 06:42

Correction please.  Duncan Milne,  not Scott Milne as the Republican candidate for Senate District #11.

If you wish to comment, please login.