Searsport educator named county Teacher of the Year

By Ben Holbrook | May 17, 2017
Courtesy of: Maine State House Majority Office Christi Goosman, left, with Rep. Erin Herbig, D-Belfast.

Searsport District High School social studies teacher Christi Goosman is Waldo County's Teacher of the Year.

Goosman started teaching in the district in 1996 and in addition to her work as a social studies teacher, she also serves as the district's drama director and helps students with the fall musical and spring one-act plays.

She said she is thrilled and honored to be named the 2017 Waldo County Teacher of the Year from among so many other educators in the area who "work tirelessly and know how to stretch resources to help students build skills for future success."

Goosman added, "It was a pleasant surprise to get the call, and even more exciting to hear about the work the 2016 county Teachers of the Year will be doing over the next year to advocate for our students, for the teaching profession, and for education."

The work she has done has gone far from unnoticed with Regional School Unit 20 Superintendent Chris Downing praising Goosman for her efforts. In particular, Downing noted her creativity and effectiveness as an educator in the classroom.

"It couldn't have been a more well-deserved individual who received this award," Downing said. "She's a great teacher and a great person."

Goosman also received accolades from Rep. Erin Herbig, D-Belfast, who congratulated the teacher on her award.

“Christi Goosman is not just an incredible teacher, she is also a great person. Congratulations on being awarded Waldo County's 2017 Teacher of the Year,” Herbig said in a statement.

The educators were each nominated by a member of their community for their exemplary service in education, and dedication to their students, according to the Maine Department of Education. The educators were selected by a panel of teachers, principals and business community members from a pool of hundreds of other nominated teachers in their communities.

As part of the next phase, the field of teachers will be narrowed to eight semi-finalists who will begin working on a professional portfolio, which is a component of the National Teacher of the Year process. After the portfolio review and presentations to a panel, the field is narrowed to three finalists.

The 2018 Maine Teacher of the Year will be selected in October after a school site visit and final interview.

Last year's Waldo County Teacher of the Year was Islesboro Central School language arts teacher Kristen Kelley.

Comments (1)
Posted by: Peter Petersen | May 18, 2017 16:32

Congratulations to a wonderful educator and person!

If you wish to comment, please login.