Searsport withdrawal vote passes

John Merrithew elected to Board of Selectmen
By Dan West | Mar 05, 2014

Searsport — The people of Searsport voted March 4 by a 3-to-1 margin to pursue withdrawal from Regional School Unit 20.

The town voted 336 in favor of pursuing withdrawal and 103 against. The town must now form a withdrawal committee, which will develop a plan for withdrawal from RSU 20.

That plan must be approved by both the Department of Education and the RSU 20 board of directors before passing a final vote in Searsport.

Voters also turned out to elect selectmen, an RSU 20 director and members of the Budget Advisory Committee.

John Merrithew was elected will 229 votes, as a new member of the Searsport Board of Selectmen, and selectman Dick Desmarais was re-elected with 209 votes. Sitting selectman Doug Norman, who received 204 votes, was not re-elected. A fourth contender, Travis Otis, also failed to garner enough support to be elected with 108 votes.

Dustin Nadeau, running unopposed, was elected to the RSU 20 board of directors with 347 votes.

Dorothy Alling, Brian Callahan,  David Johnson, Rexford Kelley,  Percy King,  Arthur Koch,  Michael Nahme, Keith Otis and Robert Jeff Pearson were all elected to the Budget Advisory Committee.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.