To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

Stock car racing

St. Clair, Ripley race to firsts at Wiscasset Speedway

Waldo County driver wins Late Model Sportsman, Knox County's racer first in Modifieds
By Staff | May 03, 2021

Wiscasset — For the second consecutive weekend, racing at Wiscasset Speedway went off without a hitch, as this time group 2 took to the track on Saturday, May 1.

Waldo, Knox and Lincoln county drivers again realized track success.

Josh St. Clair of Liberty picked up a second win of the season, as he took the checkered flag during the 40-lap Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Model Sportsman event. Will Collins of Waldoboro drove to third-place finish.

Ryan Ripley of Thomaston brought home his first win of the season in the 88.5FM Modifieds 30-lap race. Mike Brown of Hope took third.

A blustery and chilly spring afternoon greeted eager race fans on Saturday. The show featured the season's debut for Late Models, Modifieds, Outlaw Minis, Strictly Streets, and Roadrunners.

The Portland Glass Strictly Streets had the spotlight feature for the afternoon with a 35-lap tilt. The race showcased the father and son duo of Zach and Jonathon Emerson of Sabattus. In the end, it was the son, Jonathon, standing in victory lane with the first-place trophy.

Other winners on the day included Ryan Ripley, Zach Audet, Ben Benson and Josh St Clair.

In the 35-lap Strictly Street feature, Brett Osmond of Wiscasset and Mac Hannan Jr of Washington led the 15-car field to the green flag. Hannan grabbed the early lead but was hounded by Jonathon Emerson, who moved up from his third starting spot. By lap six Emerson had maneuvered his car around the outside and into the lead. While Emerson set sail up front,

Hannan held the runner-up spot for much of the middle of the race. Behind him, there were plenty of contenders fighting for position. Two-time champ Zach Emerson finally made it by Hannan into second on lap 27. While Hannan started to slip back, Osmond, rookie Ashton Reynold, and veteran Kurt Hewins traded spots three through six for the final seven laps.

Finally, when the checkers flew in the caution-free race, Zach Emerson chased his son, Jonathon, across the finish line. Hewins, who started eighth, claimed the third-place trophy. Hannan and Reynolds crossed the line in fourth and fifth, but following postrace inspection penalties, those spots went to Osmond and Bernie Dinsmore.

In other action on the day, 21 cars rolled out for the 40-lap feature in the Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Model Sportsman Division. Former champs Andrew McLaughlin and Will Collins matched up on the front row. The two held serve at the front of the pack until Josh St Clair arrived on the scene. He quickly got by Collins and hounded McLaughlin for several laps until the leader slipped in turn two, which left just enough room for St Clair to grab the lead.

Just two cautions slowed the action, and St Clair cruised to the checkers and the win. He also was the winner in last week's 40-lap Pro Stock season-opener. McLaughlin was not able to stay with St Clair over the final 10 laps, but remained solid in second. Collins slipped back to third and held off Tiger Colby and Brandon Bailey to claim the final spot in victory lane.

The 88.5FM Modifieds may not have had a lot of cars, but they certainly had plenty of action in their 30-lap feature. Ryan Ripley of Thomaston spent the entire race with multi-time champ, Adam Chadbourne, less than a car-length away. Chadbourne was either right in his tire tracks, glued to his back bumper, or had a wheel up alongside pressuring for the lead.

Ripley held strong and protected the low side of the track, to take the win by just 8/10s of a second, Chadbourne settled for the runner-up trophy. Brian Treadwell held the third spot for much of the race, but two late-race spins took him out of contention. Mike Brown of Hope took advantage of the opportunity and finished third.

Zach Audet of Norridgewock led wire-to-wire in the 25-lap Outlaw Mini feature. He was chased across the line by three-time champ Jimmy Childs of Leeds and Mike Delano of Woolwich. The 15-lap Roadrunner feature went to Ben Benson following postrace inspection.

The individual results from May 1 racing included:

Portland Glass Strictly Streets (35 laps) — 1, Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus; 2, Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 3, Kurt Hewins, Turner; 4, Brett Osmond, Wiscasset; 5, Bernie Dinsmore, Hope; 6, Dean Rice, Nobleboro; 7, Ashton Reynolds, Liberty; 8, Caleb Emerson-Mains, Richmond; 9, Mac Hannan Jr., Washington; 10, Keith Drost, Etna; 11, Joey Peaselee, Jefferson; 12, Mike Haynes, Livermore Falls; 13, Brady Romano, Livermore Falls; 14, Shawn Emery, Limerick; and 15, Scott Eck, Libson.

Kennebec Equipment Rental Outlaw Mini (25 laps) — 1, Zach Audet, Norridgewock; 2, Jimmy Childs, Leeds; 3, Mike Delano, Woolwich; 4, Ryan Kenniston, Smithfield; 5, Ryan Varney, Oxford; 6, James Grover Jr., Waldoboro; 7, Paul Thurlow, West Gardiner; 8, Shane Smith, Augusta; and 9, Scott Trask, Richmond.

88.5FM Modifieds (30 laps) — 1, Ryan Ripley, Thomaston; 2, Adam Chadbourne, Woolwich; 3, Mike Brown, Hope; 4, Jeff Prindall, Lisbon Falls; 5, Faith Cleaves, Pownal; 6, Brian Treadwell, Hancock; and 7, Milo Washer, Norway.

Ideal Roadrunners (15 laps) — 1, Ben Benson, no town given; 2, Stella Wyman, no town given; 3, Kyle Enman, Durham; 4, Merill Chapman, Bristol; 5, Skip Meservey, Warren; 6, Sharon Whitelaw, no town given; and 7, Jason Meservey, Warren.

Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Model Sportman (40 laps) — 1, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 2, Andrew McLaughlin, Harrington; 3, Will Collins, Waldoboro; 4, Tiger Colby, Wiscasset; 5, Brandon Bailey, Wiscasset; 6, Alex Waltz, Walpole; 7, Chris Thorne, Sidney; 8, Brandon Fowler, Rome; 9, James Barker, Turner; 10, Shawn Austin, Skowhegan; 11, Tyler Bailey, Wiscasset; 12, Ryan St. Clair, Wiscasset; 13, Raymond Dinsmore III, Limerick; 14, Asa Jones, Ellsworth; 15, Garrett Leiter, Winslow; 16, Jake Hendsbee, Whitefield; 17, Scott Hall, Jay; 18, D.C. Alexander, Carmel; 19, Frank Moulton, Clinton; 20, Ben Erskine, Skowhegan; and 21, Brent Roy, Vassalboro.

Ken Minott of Wiscasset Speedway contributed to this story.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.
Note: If you signed up using our new subscriber portal, your username is the email address you registered with and your password is in all caps