The Midcoast Economic Development District Names New Leadership

Jul 10, 2014
12:00 PM

The Midcoast Economic Development District (MCEDD) named Officers for its fiscal year 2015 at a June 27 Board of Directors meeting in Damariscotta. Incoming President Brian Hodges, Economic Development Director in Camden steps in for outgoing President Roger Moody, Knox County Commissioner. Bill Whitten, Assistant Cumberland County Manager is Vice President, Jim Chaousis, Boothbay Town Manager is Treasurer and Betty Johnson, Waldo County Commissioner is Secretary. Upon confirmation as President Brian Hodges said, “I am delighted to serve as President of our regional economic development organization. The Midcoast has such potential and regional efforts are often the most effective at creating jobs and improving the economy. MCEDD will surely have significant impact upon the region and I am honored to contribute to that effort.” The new officers are joined by several at-large members to comprise the Executive Committee: Bill Blodgett Lincoln County Commissioner; Staci Coomer, Executive Director of the PenBay Chamber of Commerce; John Delvecchio, resident of Whitefield; Bill Giroux, Bath City Manager; Pam Hile, Sagadahoc County Administrator; Roger Moody, Knox County Commissioner; and John Shattuck, Topsham Economic Development Director.

The Midcoast Economic Development District serves Sagadahoc, Lincoln and Knox Counties and portions of Cumberland and Waldo counties, in a district from Brunswick to Northport. One of seven federally designated economic development districts (EDD) in Maine, EDDs have also been recognized by Governor LePage and Department of Economic and Community Development Commissioner George Gervais as key partners in the State of Maine’s economic development efforts. MCEDD develops a Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy for the region, administers the Mobilize Midcoast Maine project – a private sector driven, asset-based initiative to improve the region’s economic prosperity, offers a financing program to assist small business start-ups and expansions, facilitates a municipal cooperative purchasing program that saves approximately 10% on common and heavily used products or services, and provides direct assistance to municipal members such as grant procurement or administration and tax increment financing expertise. For further information on MCEDD please contact Executive Director Jeff Kobrock, 370-6045/ or go to

Picture Caption: MCEDD Officers and staff L to R: Executive Director Jeff Kobrock, Treasurer Jim Chaousis, Secretary Betty Johnson, President Brian Hodges, and Vice President Bill Whitten.