URock Graduation Celebration Recognizes Stories of Hard Work and Commitment

Photo by: University College On Saturday, May 6, over 150 people celebrated 46 university graduates at University College at Rockland.

On Saturday, May 6, about 150 people celebrated the graduation of 46 university students who took course work through University College at Rockland and who identify with Rockland as their home campus.  Degrees will be awarded next Saturday, May 13 at the University of Maine at Augusta's cap and gown ceremony at the Civic Center.

Rockland graduates from the University of Maine at Augusta for 2017 are:

AS Bus Administration

Samantha Marston
Edward Owen

Bachelor of Applied Science

Renee Flanders
Brian Foote*
Roderick Grindell
Ali Turner

BS Aviation

Marc Belley*

BS Bus Administration—Accounting

Lakshmi Butcher

BS Bus Administration—Management

Teresa Brooks*
Bethany Clough
Christopher Nickerson*
Kathryn Rose*
Alan Springer

AS Justice Studies

Amanda Gardner
Chandra Pitcher
Stephanie Thorbjornson

BS Justice Studies

Susanna Norwood-Burns*

AA Liberal Studies

Stephanie Colson
April DeVarney*
Jennifer Harvey*
Billy Kelly*
Christopher Lowden
Amanda Walker*

BA Liberal Studies

Elizabeth Brown*
Wendy Byrd*
Kathleen Darney
Melody Davis*
Rachael Hendrick
Genevieve Lovett
David Mills*
Lacey Stone
Rachel Williams

BS Mental Health & Human Services

Cassandra Burton
Jennifer Delano*
Douglas Lord*
Katie Marston
Christopher Miliano*
Joseph Rouleau*
Barry Saucier*

AS Nursing

Amanda Bernardini
Cortney Moran
Shannon Thompson*
Dale Winsper

BS Nursing

Nicole Keating
Danica Simmons

BS Public Administration

Brittany Willis*

Special recognition awards were presented to the following chosen from all students of the University of Maine at Augusta:

Early Childhood Education Award and the Distinguished Education Award for Elementary Education Students to Elizabeth Brown

Completion of the Honors Program to Jennifer Harvey

Bennett D. Katz Scholarship to Myles Ouellette

BPW/Maine Futurama Foundation Scholarship to Debra Whittier

Kenneth Craig Ward Scholarship to Jesse Poole

Margaret’s Fund Award to Laura Flanders

Gilda E. Nardone Scholarship to Tina Ellis

UC Rockland awards were presented to:

Joshua Bowen Performing Arts Award to Melissa Barez
Tutor of the Year Award to Kathy Estabrook
Dedicated Student Award to Bethany Clough
Determination Award to Brittany Willis

Common themes in the speeches of student, Shannon Thompson, graduating with an Associate of Science in Nursing, and keynote, Reade Brower owner of Maine Today Media, were that hard work, embracing new experiences, openness to change, and courage are key factors in individual success.

For more information about University College at Rockland and opportunities for a college education in the mid-coast area, contact them at 596-6906 or visit www.learn.maine.edu/rockland.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.