To our readers,

The COVID-19 pandemic is a once-in-a-century type story, ... Click here to continue

Waldo County sends off the class of 2015

Belfast, Searsport and Mount View hold weekend commencements
By Staff | Jun 10, 2015
Photo by: Ethan Andrews Kaitlin Goslant snaps a selfie with the crowd at Belfast Area High School's commencement, June 7.

Speakers at the Belfast Area High School commencement ceremony June 7 urged humility in the graduating class of 119 students.

In his keynote address, retired BAHS speech and drama teacher Michael Lawson challenged students to be kind, particularly to those who have less authority, wealth or fame than themselves.

Valedictorian Anna Struba invoked the importance of hard work in unromantic terms. She spoke of utilitarian artifacts from ancient cultures now in museums and suggested that their original purpose may have been more important.

BAHS serves Belfast, Belmont, Morrill, Northport, Searsmont and Swanville. The graduation ceremony also included students from BCOPE, Belfast’s alternative high school.

Graduates include: Joshua Adams, Fouad Al-Matrouk, Marissa Allen, Allen Alley, Hannah Ames, Kyle Artkop, Nathanael Asselin, Grace Bagley, Zoe Baldwin, Sarah Berry, Daniel Bowen, Maylinda Boynton, Joshua Bradeen, Carli Briggs, Kimberly Busko, Ethan Campbell, John Capella, Kirsten Caswell, Joshua Chase, Jerahmy Clapp, Brandon Cooper, Julia Costa, Kameron Culbertson, Steven Davis, Anthony DeFeo, Austin Dickey, BingYing Dong, Sarita Drinkwater, Winston Durkee, Kimberly Eynon, Owen Falvey, Tristan Feener, Zoe Felton, Jacqueline Flagg, Ciya Freeman, Ariel Gardiner, Margaret Goscinski, Kaitlin Goslant, Dylan Green, Patrick Gross, Kylene Hall, Anika Hartman, Ian Hathaway, Cody Herard, Kristina Hill, Jordan Hodges, Waymon Hotham, David Hurd, Devon Hurd, William Hyland, Autumn Jackson, Nicolas Jewell, Miranda Johnson, Zoey Knudsen, Chase Kolment, Samuel Kulikowski, Dallas Lane, Levi Lapham, Tyler LaPlante, Meghan Larrabee, Brogan Leppanen, Audrey Lightner, Alexander Lind, Adam Littlefield, Brittany Littlefield, Madison Littlefield, Hunter Loring, Austin Lozano, Tanner Luther, Hanna Lynam, Brandee Maddocks, Allison Martell, Austin McDevitt, Catherine McGinn, Chase McIntire, Alyssa McIntyre, Cody McKinney, Bianca Mitchell, Mackenzie Moore, Monica Murray, Crystal Nadeau, Ambrosia Nelligan, James Nelson, Matthew Oxton, Alyssa Page, Rachel Parziale, Simone Pelletier, Madison Pickering, Katrina Pomeroy, Roger Quehl, Brandon Richards, Colton Ridley, Aidan Ripley, Lucas Roberts, Zavier Roman, Autumn Senior, Matthew Smith, Adam Snodgrass, Shawn Snodgrass, Austin Sprague, Andrew Stanley, Nicole Staples, Tierra Stevens, Nicholas Stimpson, Anna Struba, Emma Sturdevant, Crystal Theriault, Ryan Thompson, Benjamin Trundy, Jared Vaughan, Dakota Walker, Brandon Waterman, William Wessels, Jason Whitmore Jr., Danielle Wilson, Scott Wiseman, Summer Woitko, Kirstin Wolf, Ariel Woodard, Brian Wright and Katlyn Young.

Searsport District High School

Friends and family members filled the gymnasium at Searsport District High School as 30 seniors graduated as part of the class of 2015. Speakers during the commencement exercises included Class President Alyssa Burkard, Class Treasurer Alivia Cross, John Guerette and Jay Burkard.

The 2015 graduates include: Alexis Allendwood, Brianna Boyle, Alyssa Burkard, Jay Burkard, Alivia Cross, Rebecca Field, Connor Fraser, Chauntelle Gillo, Dylon Grant, Mary Greenier, John Guerette, Erika Harriman, Ryan Hruby, Patience Hustus, Michael Jettinghoff, Tyler Kendall, Kevin Keniston, Matthew Kilpatrick, Hannah McKinney, Alexandria Northup, Anthony Powers, Bartly Santos, Chazari Santos, Logan Seekins, Logan Staples, Mark Tufo, Cory Tyler, Brittany Ward, Rica Warren and Alexander Woodward.

Mount View High School

Family and friends of Mount View graduates gathered June 7 for commencement ceremonies, with many pausing to take photos with the mustang statue in front of the school before and after the ceremony.

Speeches were given by Class President Adam Aitken, Valedictorian John Piotti and Salutatorian Brooke Tripp. Scholarships totaling $70,000 were awarded to 33 members of the graduating class with many students receiving more than one.

As students were called forward to receive their diplomas, a moment of levity — Caleb Larrabee crossed the stage as other students before him had, shaking hands with Principal William Tracy, Assistant Principal Thomas Lynch and school board representative Myrick Cross, but then swept Superintendent Heather Perry off her feet and spun around with her several times before accepting his diploma.

One hundred thirteen graduates were awarded diplomas. Three students plan to join the armed forces and were recognized by audience members. Most students said they plan to attend college, with others seeking employment or remaining undecided.

Graduates include: Adam Aitken, Lillian Alexander, Kayla Anderson, Zachary Argraves, Anthony Barnard, Logan Basford, Dinah Bilodeau, Lincoln Bither, Zachary Blanchard, James Blanchette, Kersey Boulay, Sierra Bowman, Kathryn Braley, Damion Brown, Britni Bryant, Cassandra Carleton, Adam Chase, Donna Chason, David Clark, Taylor Coburn, Christopher Cole, Garth Coleman, Ariel Connell, Tyler Cross, Kyle Crowell, Bo Curtis, Hunter Cutliffe, Danielle Cyr, Eli Davies, Breton Dawson, Donovan Desrosiers, Sarah Dolloff, Colin Donovan, Kyle Doughty, John Downer, Jennifer Doyle, Gabe Drinkwater, Kyla Faust, Zachery Forsythe, Scott Gaudette, Brody Gibbs, Robert Grotton, Jordan Haddad, Devin Haight, Christina Hall, William Haskins, Daniel Heard, Rebekah Hewins, Nathan Hills, Kailianne Hodgeman, Sativa Holmes, Bryce Hubbard, Jazlyn Ingraham, Gavin Jewett, Jenna Johnson, Alexander Kaminski, Connor Kenney, Alexander Kimball, Craig Lancaster, Amber LaRochelle, Caleb Larrabee, James Leathers, Avery Leclerc, John Lillibridge, Nathan Lord, Zackary Lunt, Tyler Lydem, Alanna Maxcy-Flood, Job Mesaric, Joshua Miller, Trevor Miller, Lindsay Morong, Brett Mulligan, Kimberlee Nelson, Ellie Peaslee, John Piotti, Rochelle Porter, True Preble, Alexis Prescott, Cole Resmini, Jerome Reynolds, Levi Reynolds, Logan Ribar, Jade Rigby, David Roche, Devon Roux, Jayna Rumney, Nicole Schofield, Asher Sizeler-Fletcher, Brandy Smith, Ashlee Spaulding, Katherine Spaulding, Christopher Stilkey, Tori Strain, Tanner Talbot, Austyn Thomas, Miranda Thomas, Isaiah Townsely, Anthony Trask, Brooke Tripp, Nicholas Troutman, Cole Turner, Devon Walsh, Colleen White, James Wilkinson, Audrey Williams, Russell Williams, Kayla Wilson, Brianna Wren, Darien Wren, Nathan Wren, Whitney Wren and Keith York.

Editor's note: The list of Belfast Area High School graduates has been updated to include previously missing names and correct misspellings. We will print a full corrected list of Belfast graduates in the June 18 edition of The Republican Journal.

If you appreciated reading this news story and want to support local journalism, consider subscribing today.
Call (207) 594-4401 or join online at
Donate directly to keeping quality journalism alive at
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.
Note: If you signed up using our new subscriber portal, your username is the email address you registered with and your password is in all caps