Amateur golf

Weekly points quota, scotch foursome, twilight results at NGC

By Staff | Jun 12, 2017

Northport — The Northport Golf Club continued with plenty of recent member play:

On Sunday, June 11, in points quota event, Bob Delio, Paul Jasienowski, John McKay and Lee Robinson finished first at 120; Jeff Dutch, Larry Quinn and Terry Fancy, second at 119; Jesse Johnson, Randy Berry, Preston Ward and Charlie Pray, third at 118; and Jeff Shula, Rick Cronin, Robert Salzberg and Cecil Eastman, fourth at 116.

In Class A, Jesse Johnson finished first gross 72; Jake Thompson, second gross 77; Jeff Dutch and Alex Carroll, tied third gross 79; Jamie Place, first net 69; Larry Quinn and Preston Ward, second net 70; and Bob Delio, fourth net 71.

Pin winners were: Chad Place, 20-0 on the third hole, and 10-8 on the ninth; Dick Clements, 10-11 on the 12th; and Bob Delio, 7-1 on the 18th.

In Class B, Steve Stanford finished first gross 87; Jeff Shula, second gross 88; Robert Salzberg, third gross 90; John Lloyd-Still, fourth gross 91; Lee Robinson, first net 68; Scott Benzie, second net 71; Terry Fancy, third net 74; and Frank Field, fourth net 75.

The pin winners were: Jeff Shula, 22-11 on the third; and Steve Stanford, 16-2 on the 18th.

On Wednesday, June 7, in scotch foursome, Terry Whitney and Roxie Whitney finished first gross; Alex Carroll and Shirley Caler, second gross 33; Jeff Dutch and Elaine Bielenberg, third gross 35.5; Slim Peaslee and Barb Peaslee, fourth gross 36; and John Dimier and Dana Dimier, as well as Bob Barrett and Brenda Barrett, tied for fifth gross 37.5.

On Tuesday, June 6, in the twilight league, for Class A, Alex Carroll finished first gross 39; Jesse Johnson, second gross 40; Mike Knox, third gross 41; Charlie Pray, fourth gross 43; Paul Doody and Steve Stanford, tied first net 35; and Chris Tibbetts and Terry Whitney, tied third net 36.

The pin winners were: Charlie Pray, 24-11 on the third; and Jesse Johnson, 4-5 on the ninth.

For Class B, Frank Field and Bruce Spaulding tied for first gross 43; Slim Peaslee, third gross 48; Tony Field, fourth gross 50; Chip Curry, first net 31; Don Pendergast, second net 34; Brian Beaulieu, third net 37; and Phil Bowen, fourth net 38.

The pin winner was: Dan Eaton, 30-7 on the third, and 12-10 on the ninth.

Courier Publications’ sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.